Set List: The Music of Aretha Franklin @ Carnegie Hall, New York

by VVN Music

Michael Dorf, owner of City Winery in New York, held his annual salute concert at Carnegie Hall on Monday night with this year's show surrounding the music of Aretha Franklin.

An annual affair, the show is a benefit for organizations involved with music education including Grammy in the Schools, The Center for Arts Education, and the D’Addario Foundation. Dorf announced that the proceeds for the night would total about $100,000.

The evening included performances from a wide ranging group of artists from veteran (Rodney Crowell, Sam Moore, Taj Mahal, Living Colour, Melissa Etheridge, Kenny Loggins), modern acts (Ledisi, Rhiannon Giddens, Allen Stone) to newcomer Courtney Trice, the great-niece of Sam Moore, who sang with the house band, Antibalas.

Franklin did not attend the show.

The set list:
  • I Say a Little Prayer - Allen Stone
  • Day Dreaming - Ledisi
  • Don’t Play That Song For Me - Sam Moore
  • Dr. Feelgood (Love is a Serious Business) Sarah Dash
  • Think G. Love
  • A Change is Gonna Come - Naomi Shelton
  • Respect - Antibalas with members of Little Kids Rock
  • Who’s Zooming Who - Antibalas
  • The Weight - Rodney Crowell
  • Chain of Fools - Taj Mahal & Deva Mahal
  • Baby I Love You - Ron Pope
  • Border Song (Holy Moses) - Rhiannon Giddens
  • Hello Sunshine - Richard Thompson
  • (You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman - Ruthie Foster
  • Since You’ve Been Gone Todd Rundgren
  • Drown in My Own Tears - Don Bryant
  • Until You Come Back to Me (That's What I'm Gonna Do) - Kenny Loggins
  • Ain’t No Way - Bettye LaVette
  • Night Time is the Right Time - CeeLo Green
  • I Never Loved a Man (The Way That I Love You) - Melissa Etheridge
  • Rock Steady - Living Colour
  • Respect - All

No comments

Powered by Blogger.