The Rhythm & Blues Hall of Fame Names Thirteen New Inductees

by VVN Music

Some of the greatest names in soul music have been named for induction into the Rhythm & Blues Hall of Fame.

The following artists will join the 147 previous inductees to the Hall:

  • Gladys Knight & the Pips
  • Mitch Ryder
  • Patti LaBelle
  • James Brown
  • Mary Wells
  • Dennis Coffey
  • Lenny Williams
  • Isaac Hayes
  • Carl Carlton
  • The Impressions
  • The Valadiers
  • The Marvelettes
  • Clarence "Foody" Rome (DJ)
A number of special honorees were also named including the Temptations as R&B Group of the 20th Century, the Reverend Al Sharpton as the Living Legend, Martha Reeves as the R&B Icon, and congresswoman Brenda Lawrence (LaMont D. Robinson Visionary Award). 

The announcement was made on Tuesday (February 21) at Bert's Entertainment Complex in Detroit. On hand were U.S. Congressman John Conyers, Congresswoman Lawrence and Councilwoman Mary Sheffield along with such music luminaries as Martha Reeves, Kim Weston and Dennis Coffey. 

The induction ceremony will be held on Sunday, June 11 at Detroit's Music Hall. At this point, there is not a permanent facility for the Rhythm & Blues Hall of Fame; however, after a search for outside cities, the city of Detroit is once again showing interest. Plans are for the complex to have a 1,500 seat theater, museum, music themed restaurant, recording studio, the R&B Walk of Fame and The National Jazz Hall of Fame. 

No comments

Powered by Blogger.