Rock Candy Records to Reissue First Two Albums of Carmine Appice's King Kobra

by VVN Music

In 1984, legendary drummer Carmine Appice of Vanilla Fudge, Cactus and Beck, Bogert & Appice, formed a new band, King Kobra.

Appice had just finished a short stint with Ozzy Osbourne and decided to form a group from scratch, pulling together four newcomers, Mark Free, John Michael Philips, Mick Sweda and Johnny Rod. The group signed with Capitol Records and, with the help of producer Spencer Proffer (Quiet Riot, WASP, Cheap Trick), recorded their debut album, Ready to Strike.

Hailed by critics, the album delivered what was considered some of the best hard rock of the mid-80's. They returned a year later, in 1986, with their second album, Thrill of a Lifetime, which altered their sound in an attempt to find success on the singles chart.

After the release of Thrill, Free would leave the group which would go on to record one final album with vocalist Johnny "Boy" Edwards before disbanding in 1988.

King Kobra's first two albums are now set to be reissued this Friday (February 10) by Rock Candy Records in newly remastered versions with 16-page booklets of rare photos, new interviews and an 4,000 word essay by Malcolm Dome.

The track lists:

Ready to Strike
  • Ready to Strike
  • Hunger
  • Shadow Rider
  • Shake Up
  • Attention
  • Breakin' Out
  • Tough Guys
  • Dancing With desire
  • Second Thoughts
  • Piece of the Rock
Thrill of a Lifetime
  • Second Time Around
  • Dream On
  • Feel the Heat
  • Thrill of a Lifetime
  • Only the Strong Will Survive
  • Iron Eagle (Never Say Die)
  • Home Street Home
  • Overnight Sensation
  • Raise Your Hands to Rock
  • Party Animal
  • Home Sweet Home (Street Mix) (Bonus Track)

No comments

Powered by Blogger.