Dolly Parton, Kris Kristofferson, Pearl Jam, Indigo Girls, Adele to Appear on Brandi Carlisle Anniversary/Charity Album

by VVN Music

Ten years ago, singer Brandi Carlisle came on the scene with the stunning debut album The Story.

On May 5, Legacy Recordings will release a brand new version of that album with veteran and modern artists recreating each of the tracks.

Cover Stories: Brandi Carlile Celebrates 10 Years of The Story – An Album to Benefit War Child will have a forward by Barack Obama with all proceeds going to benefit War Child UK, a charity dedicated to supporting children affected by conflict. Carlile's nonprofit, the Looking Out Foundation, launched the Story Campaign last year to raise awareness and funds for War Child UK.

Among the artists on the album is Dolly Parton who performs the title song:

Other veteran artists participating on Cover Stories include Kris Kristofferson, the Indigo Girls and Pearl Jam along with such modern acts as Adele, Old Crow Medicine Show, Jim James, and the Avett Brothers.

Carlisle said of the album "This is a David and Goliath story. Since becoming a mother, the reality of a child's beautiful life being torn apart by war felt like too big of a problem for me. So I asked my heroes and friends to help me launch a rock at the giant that is our refugee crisis and help in the only way we know how, through the power of music. It's not how hard you can throw, it's how high you're willing to aim."

Cover Stories was recorded mostly over a series of sessions in 2016 (with the exception of Adele's take on Hiding My Heart which was originally released as a bonus track to her 2011 album 21, and Ruby Amanfu's Shadow on the Wall, originally released in 2015), with many special guests contributing to the already star-studded lineup. Chris Stapleton adds guitar to Kris Kristofferson's take on Turpentine, and Miranda Lambert lends backing vocals to Anderson East's Josephine. Dave Cobb produced tracks by Kristofferson, Parton, and Price; Patrick Carney of the Black Keys produced Ruby Amanfu; Carlile and longtime bandmates The Twins (Tim and Phil Hanseroth) produced the Secret Sisters and TORRES.

Reflecting on The Story's 10th anniversary Carlile says, "This album defined our band and welded The Twins and me to one another forever. It's been a transformative experience to revisit it 10 years later and watch it become something bigger than me. To hear the songs through the voices of my heroes is both surreal and humbling."

The track list:
  • Late Morning Lullaby - Shovels & Rope
  • The Story - Dolly Parton
  • Turpentine - Kris Kristofferson
  • My Song - Old Crow Medicine Show
  • Wasted - Jim James
  • Have You Ever - The Avett Brothers
  • Josephine - Anderson East
  • Losing Heart - Secret Sisters
  • Cannonball - Indigo Girls
  • Until I Die - TORRES
  • Downpour - Margo Price
  • Shadow On The Wall - Ruby Amanfu
  • Again Today - Pearl Jam 
  • Hiding My Heart - Adele

No comments

Powered by Blogger.