Diana Krall Details Her New Album, "Turn Up the Quiet"

by VVN Music

Diana Krall first announced that she had a new album and tour coming last week but, on Friday, she finally released details for Turn Up the Quiet.

The album, out May 5 on Verve, is a return to the world of standards with which Krall built her career. She says that this particular list of tunes has been on her mind. "I have thought about these songs for a long time. Being in the company of some of my greatest friends in music allowed me to tell these stories just as I'd intended. Sometimes you just have to turn up the quiet to be heard a little better."

Producing is Tony LiPuma, who previously worked with Krall on All For You, The Look of Love and Live in Paris. Engineering and mixing was by Al Schmitt at Capitol Studios in Hollywood.

For this album, Krall has used three different backing groups:
  • A trio including Diana, Christian McBride and guitarist, Russell Malone.
  • A quintet with Diana, Karriem Riggins on drums, Tony Garnier on bass and the fiddle of Stuart Duncan.
  • A quintet of Diana, guitarist, Anthony Wilson, bassist, John Clayton Jr. and drummer, Jeff Hamilton.
The track list:
  • Like Someone In Love
  • Isn't It Romantic
  • LOVE
  • Night and Day
  • I'm Confessin'
  • Moonglow
  • Blue Skies
  • Sway
  • No Moon At All
  • Dream
  • I'll See You In My Dreams

No comments

Powered by Blogger.