Sia, Nick Cave, Warren Ellis, Archie Roach Nominated For APRA Song of the Year

by VVN Music

The Australian Performing Rights Association (APRA) has announced the twenty contenders for their Song of the Year. Among the twenty are three that were written and performed by veteran artists.

Sia Furler, who has been recording as just Sia since 1997, is nominated with songwriting partner Greg Kurstin for the song Cheap Thrills. While the recording went to number 6 in her native Australia, it became her first number 1 song in the U.S.

Also nominated is the song Skeleton Tree by Nick Cave and Warren Ellis from the album of the same name and It's Not Too Late by indigenous Australian singer Archie Roach and Craig Pilkington.

The full list of nominees:
  • 1955 (Hilltop Hoots Featuring Montaigne & Tomm Thum) by Andrew Burford, Barry Francis, Matthew Lambert and Daniel Smith
  • 2 Black 2 Strong (A.B. Original) by Adam Briggs, Daniel Rankine and Darren Reutens
  • Adore (Amy Shark) by Amy Shark
  • Cheap Thrills (Sia) by Sia Furler and Greg Kurstin
  • Come Home Cardinal Pell (Tim Minchin) by Tim Minchin
  • Gamma Knife (King Gizzard & the Wizzard Lizard) by Stuart Mackenzie
  • It's Not Too Late (Archie Roach) by Archie Roach and Craig Pilkington
  • January 26 (A.B. Original Featuring Dan Sultan) by Adam Briggs, Daniel Rankine and Dan Sultan
  • Jungle (Tash Sultana) by Tash Sultana
  • Never Be Like You (Flume) by Harley Streten aka Flume, Kai and Geoffrey Earley
  • Oh Canada (Missy Higgins) by Missy Higgins
  • Pool Party (Julia Jacklin) by Julia Jacklin
  • Satan (D.D Dumbo) by Oliver Perry
  • Say It (Flume) by Harley Streten aka Flume, Julian Hamilton, Daniel Johns and Tove Lo
  • Set in Stone (Guy Sebastian) by Guy Sebastian, Stuart Crichton and Taylor Parks
  • Skeleton Tree (Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds) by Nick Cave and Warren Ellis
  • Sooth Lady Wine (Matt Corby) by Matt Corby and John Henriksson
  • Sound of Silence (Dami Im) by Anthony Egizii and David Musumeci
  • To Think That I Once Love You (The Drones) by Gareth Liddiard
  • Viceroy (Violent Soho) by Luke Boerdam, Luke Henery, Michael Richards and James Tidswell

No comments

Powered by Blogger.