Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds' "Skeleton Tree" Shortlisted For Australian Music Prize

by Paul Cashmere, Noise11

The 12th Australian Music Prize has gathered up some of 2016’s most creative releases in anticipation of the prize to be announced in March.

Nine albums have been shortlisted for the AMP with the winner announced on March 8.

Reclaim Australia - A.B. Original
  • Wildflower - The Avalanches 
  • Animal - Big Scary 
  • Camp Cope - Camp Cope 
  • Utopia Defeated - D.D Dumbo 
  • Nonagon Infinity - King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard 
  • Skeleton Tree - Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds 
  • Self Talk - Olympia 
  • Joy - The Peep Tempel 
Blake Scott of The Peep Tempel said, “2016 was an especially good year for Australian music, so we are absolutely stoked to have Joy recognized in such company. Special thanks to the panel members who sat through hundreds of albums, incredible effort.”

Sarah Thompson of Camp Cope said, “Being shortlisted for the AMP has blown our minds. We spent 1 and a half days and $1000 making this record so to see where it’s come is just nuts. We’re so appreciative of everyone who’s supported it and us over the past 12 months. Being recognised by the judges and our peers is a huge honor. I have no idea how three scummy little punks fell into the realm of any sort of prize but we are stoked, and really appreciate it – thanks so much for including us!”

364 Australian albums were released in 2016. The AMP narrowed down its first longlist to 61, then to these nine.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.