Jamiroquai is Back With Their First New Album in Seven Years

by VVN Music

The British funksters Jamiroquai will release their first album in seven years, Automaton, on March 31 via Virgin EMI.

Formed in 1992, the band, led by lead singer Jay Kay, have had thirteen top ten dance hits in the U.S. including five that hit number 1 on the Dance chart, Space Cowboy (1994), Canned Heat (1999), Supersonic (1999), Feels Like It Should (2005) and Runaway (2006). Worldwide, they are probably best known for their 1996 song Virtual Insanity which was popular in regular rotation on MTV, winning Video of the Year along with three other awards at the 1997 MTV Video Music Awards.

According to Jay Kay, the new album was inspired "in recognition of the rise of artificial intelligence and technology in our world today and how we as humans are beginning to forget the more pleasant, simple and eloquent things in life and in our environment including our relationship with one another as human beings".

The first single is the title track from the album:

The track list:
  • Shake It On
  • Automaton
  • Cloud 9
  • Superfresh
  • Hot Property
  • Something About You
  • Summer Girl
  • Nights Out in the Jungle
  • Dr. Buzz
  • We Can Do It
  • Vitamin
  • Carla
Jamiroquai also have a number of dates scheduled for Europe, Japan and Korea:
  • 03/28 - Paris, France - La Salle Pleyel
  • 03/31 - London, UK - Roundhouse
  • 05/25 - Tokyo, Japan - Tokyo International Forum
  • 05/27 - Seoul, South Korea - Seoul Jazz Festival
  • 05/28 - Seoul, South Korea - Seoul Jazz Festival
  • 06/17 - Athens, Greece - Release Athens Music Festival
  • 07/09 - Rotterdam, Netherlands - North Sea Jazz
  • 07/11 - Florence, Italy - Visarno . Parco della Cascine
  • 07/14 - Pori, Finland - Pori Jazz Festival
  • 07/16 - Aix Les Bains, France - Festival Musilac

No comments

Powered by Blogger.