British Invasion Band The Creation Chronicled on New Two-CD Set

via Press Release

Numero Group has compiled for the first time ever the complete studio recordings of the English ’60s psych-rock band The Creation. The 2-CD set titled Action Painting will be released March 17, 2017.
All 42 tracks the group recorded between 1965-1968 have been remastered from the original tapes by Shel Talmy, and given fresh stereo mixes where previously unavailable. New essays by music historians Dean Rudland and Alec Palao tell the Creation story while scores of previously unpublished photographs adorn the accompanying 80-page hardbound book. Numero Group has rounded out the package with four tracks by pre-Creation freakbeat quartet the Mark Four, making Action Painting the definitive collection of this legendary U.K. band. 
The Creation were a dynamic quartet with an equally engaging image. They would burn brightly for just two years, yet would leave an indelible mark upon music history. With producer du jour Shel Talmy at the helm (The Who, Kinks, Easybeats, Cat Stevens, et al.) the Creation went on an incredible two-year tear of singles, including Making Time, How Does It Feel to Feel, Tom Tom, and If I Stay Too Long. By 1968 the paint was dry and the band split. Eddie Phillips’ trademark guitar bowing would be nicked by Jimmy Page and Boney M would cheese up Painter Man, the band’s highest-charting single. 
Over the nearly five decades since, the Creation has seen a tremendous resurgence in interest. First it was the Jam flossing Making Time on the inner sleeve of All Mod Cons. A few years later Alan McGee formed the band Biff Bang Pow and his Creation record label. By the turn of the century a new generation had discovered the band via a strategic placement in Wes Anderson’s Rushmore.
According to legendary producer Talmy, “My biggest regret is that they didn’t achieve the standing they should have. I truly believe they could have been as big as the Who.” 
With Action Painting, overdue recognition might be just around the bend. 
Separate from the 2-CD/2-LP collection, Numero will release a limited edition, break away spindle 45 featuring the Creation's Making Time backed with a previously unissued instrumental version. 


Disc 1
  • Making Time
  • Try and Stop Me
  • Biff Bang Pow
  • Sylvette (edit)
  • If I Stay Too Long
  • Nightmares
  • Life Is Just Beginning 
  • Through My Eyes 
  • How Does It Feel to Feel 
  • Tom Tom 
  • Can I Join Your Band
  • Midway Down 
  • The Girls Are Naked 
  • Bonie Maronie
  • For All That I Am 
  • Uncle Bert 
  • Cool Jerk 
  • I Am the Walker 
  • Ostrich Man 
  • Sweet Helen 
  • How Does It Feel to Feel (US version) 
Disc 2
  • Hurt Me If You Will (The Mark Four)
  • I’m Leaving (The Mark Four)
  • Work All Day (Sleep All Night) (The Mark Four) 
  • Going Down Fast (The Mark Four) 
  • How Does It Feel to Feel (US version) (New stereo mix)
  • Biff Bang Pow (New stereo mix)
  • For All That I Am (New stereo mix)
  • Can I Join Your Band (New stereo mix)
  • Through My Eyes (New stereo mix)
  • Tom Tom (New stereo mix)
  • Midway Down (New stereo mix)
  • Nightmares (New stereo mix)
  • Life Is Just Beginning (New stereo mix)
  • Painter Man (New stereo mix)
  • If I Stay Too Long (New stereo mix)
  • How Does It Feel To Feel (UK version) (New stereo mix)
  • Cool Jerk (New stereo mix)
  • Hey Joe (New stereo mix)
  • Like a Rolling Stone (New stereo mix)
  • Making Time (backing track, take 1, previously unissued)
  • Sylvette (full length) 
  • Instrumental 1 
  • How Does It Feel to Feel (backing track, version 1, previously unissued)

No comments

Powered by Blogger.