Maxwell, Kirk Franklin, Brandy & Fat Joe Win at the 2016 Soul Train Awards

by Newsdesk

Beyonce took home four gongs at the 2016 Soul Train Awards.

While the ceremony took place on November 6 at the Orleans Arena in Las Vegas, the winners had not been revealed until the ceremony aired on U.S. television on Sunday night and it was Beyonce who dominated the evening, winning four awards including the prize for Song of the Year for her track Formation.

The track earned her the Video of the Year honor as well, while the mother-of-one also emerged victorious in the categories of Best R&B/Soul Female Artist and Album/Mixtape of the Year for her critically-acclaimed work Lemonade.

Other notable winners at the ceremony included Brandy Norwood, who took home the Lady of Soul Award, and Chance the Rapper, who was named Best New Artist.

As well as her awards victory, Brandy also performed a nine-minute medley at the ceremony, treating the audience to some of her biggest hits including Almost Doesn't Count and The Boy Is Mine. She was also joined by Ma$e for a rendition of On Top of the World, from Brandy's second studio album Never Say Never.

Following the evening, Brandy took to her social media to thank fans for their support and congratulations, writing: "Thank you for all the love... I'm really overjoyed and thankful for this moment in time! There is so much more I've been preparing to give!!"

Meanwhile Kanye West, who is currently in hospital in Los Angeles being treated for exhaustion, won the Best Dance Performance gong for his track Fade, featuring Teyana Taylor.

Other veteran artists to win included Maxwell (R&B/Soul Male Artist), Fat Joe (Rhythm & Bars Award for All the Way Up) and Teddy Riley (Legend Award).

Erykah Badu served as event host and executive producer, and while she and her other producers created segments for the ceremony, she told USA Today recently their sole aim was "to bring back the '90s and pay homage to some of that music that was so inspiring to this wave of generation (and) to some of the greatest artists in our music industry".

The full list of winners at the 2016 Soul Train Awards is as follows:
  • Best New Artist - Chance the Rapper
  • Best R&B/Soul Male Artist - Maxwell
  • Centric Certified Award - Anderson .Paak
  • Video of the Year - Formation - Beyonce
  • Best Gospel/Inspirational Song - 123 Victory - Kirk Franklin
  • Album/Mixtape of the Year - Lemonade - Beyonce
  • Rhythm & Bars Award (Formerly Best Hip-Hop Song of the Year) - All the Way Up - Fat Joe & Remy Ma feat. French Montana and Infared
  • Best R&B/Soul Female Artist - Beyonce
  • Song of the Year - Formation - Beyonce
  • The Ashford & Simpson Songwriter's Award - Rise Up - written by Andra Day, Jennifer Decilveo, recorded by Andra Day
  • Best Dance Performance - Fade - Kanye West (Dance Performance feat. Teyana Taylor)
  • Best Collaboration - All The Way Up - Fat Joe & Remy Ma feat. French Montana and Infared
  • Lady of Soul Award - Brandy
  • Legend Award - Teddy Riley

No comments

Powered by Blogger.