Country's Jeannie Seely to Release New Album in January

by VVN Music

Classic country singer Jeannie Seely will release her sixteenth album, Written in Song, on January 13.

Seely started her recording career in the mid-60's and broke through with Don't Touch Me (1966 / #2 Country), her first of nine top twenty hits, but Seely actually started her career in Nashville as a songwriter for Four Star Records.

In 1964, a song she wrote called Anyone Who Knows What Love Is (Will Understand) was cut by soul singer Irma Thomas and became an R&B hit. Over the years, she would not only write music for her own recordings but also for artists like Norma Jean, Ernest Tubb, Faron Young and many others.

Seely's upcoming album, Written in Song, sees her recording some of those songs that were hits for others including the Thomas hit.

Jeannie said "Written In Song is such an exciting project for me for many reasons. It consists of 14 songs that I have written over the years, most of them recorded by my peers and my heroes. It’s also very rewarding to know that these songs have stood the test of time and are just as viable today. I am extremely grateful to the musicians and singers who made them sound brand new."

Joining Seely on the album are Connie Smith and Marty Stuart on Senses and Jan Howard and Jessi Colter for We're Still Hangin' in There Ain't We Jessi.

Seely remains a popular performer in the Nashville area, playing in a number of venues. She has also been a member of the Grand Ole Opry for over 49 years.

The track list:
  • Sometimes I Do
  • He’s All I Need
  • I’m Never Gonna See You
  • Senses
  • Anyone Who Knows What Love Is
  • You Don’t Need Me
  • My Love For You
  • Leavin’ And Sayin’ Goodbye
  • The Pain Once You’re Gone
  • He Always Got What He Wanted
  • Life Of A Rodeo Cowboy
  • Enough To Lie
  • Who Needs You
  • We’re Still Hangin’ In There Ain’t We Jessi

No comments

Powered by Blogger.