Capitol Records Announces 75 Vinyl Reissues For Their 75th Anniversary

by VVN Music

Capitol Records is kicking off its 75th anniversary this month with three major announcements of new projects.

The first, The Capitol Records 75th Anniversary Collection includes 75 albums that will be reissued on vinyl as chosen by a panel of journalists, authors and creative figures. Among the albums chosen are five from the Beatles, four from Frank Sinatra, and two each from the Beach Boys, Bonnie Raitt and the Band.

The oldest albums on the list include 1953's The Duke Plays Ellington by Duke Ellington and Unforgettable by Nat King Cole while the newest while the newest are Beck's Morning Phase and Sam Smith's In the Lonely Hour, both of which came out in 2014.

The albums (see list below) will start being issued this month and will continue through the end of 2017.

On December 15, TASCHEN will publish the new book 75 Years of Capitol Records which details the label's evolution over the last 75 years. Beck penned the intro for the book with the bulk of the book including essays by historians and critics along with hundreds of images from the Capitol archives.

Then, late next year, a new documentary series, produced by Nigel Sinclair and Whitehorse Pictures, will debut with multiple episodes not only detailing the history of Capitol Records, but also

the story of America's love affair with popular music and an exploration of how Capitol's artists and their music have helped shaped social movements, transform our popular culture and helped define our lives. Each episode in this docuseries will be directed by a past or present-day Capitol artist or other cultural luminary who will bring a unique and knowledgeable perspective to the stories being conveyed.

In two weeks, on Tuesday, November 15, Capitol Records will also become the first record company to receive a star of recognition on the Hollywood Walk of Fame directly outside the legendary Capitol Tower. That day will also be declared Capitol Records Day in the city.

The albums in the Capitol Records 75th Anniversary Collection:
  • Ashford & Simpson - Solid
  • Beastie Boys - Paul's Boutique
  • Beck - Morning Phase
  • Blind Melon - Blind Melon
  • Bob Seger - Night Moves
  • Bobbie Gentry - Ode To Billy Joe
  • Bobby Darin - You're The Reason I'm Living
  • Bonnie Raitt - Nick of Time
  • Bonnie Raitt - Luck Of The Draw
  • Buck Owens - Buck Owens
  • Cannonball Adderley - Mercy Mercy Mercy
  • Coldplay - Parachutes
  • Crowded House - Crowded House
  • Dean Martin - Dino: Italian Love Songs
  • Duke Ellington - The Duke Plays Ellington
  • Foo Fighters - Foo Fighters
  • Frank Sinatra - In The Wee Small Hours
  • Frank Sinatra - Songs for Swingin' Lovers!
  • Frank Sinatra - Come Fly With Me
  • Frank Sinatra - Frank Sinatra Sings For Only The Lonely
  • Freddie Jackson - Rock Me Tonight
  • Gene Vincent & His Blue Caps - Bluejean Bop
  • George Clinton - Computer Games
  • George Harrison - All Things Must Pass
  • Glen Campbell - By the Time I Get to Phoenix
  • Grand Funk Railroad - We're an American Band
  • Heart - Heart
  • James Taylor - James Taylor
  • Joe South - Introspect
  • John Lennon - Imagine
  • Johnny Mercer - Accentuate the Positive
  • Judy Garland - Judy at Carnegie Hall
  • Katy Perry - Teenage Dream
  • Kingston Trio - Kingston Trio
  • Knack - Get The Knack
  • Les Paul and Mary Ford - Les and Mary
  • Linda Ronstadt - Heart Like a Wheel
  • Louie Prima - The Wildest
  • Maze Featuring Frankie Beverly - Maze Featuring Frankie Beverly
  • Mazzy Star - So Tonight That I Might See
  • MC Hammer - Please Hammer Don't Hurt 'Em
  • Megadeth - Peace Sells
  • Merle Haggard - Mama Tried
  • Miles Davis - Birth Of The Cool
  • Nancy Wilson - How Glad I Am
  • Nat King Cole - Unforgettable
  • Natalie Cole - Unpredictable
  • Neil Diamond - The Jazz Singer
  • Norah Jones - Come Away With Me
  • Peggy Lee - Is That All There Is
  • Pink Floyd - Dark Side of the Moon
  • Radiohead - OK Computer
  • Raspberries - Raspberries
  • Richard Thompson - Rumor & Sigh
  • Ringo Starr - Ringo
  • Robert Glaspar - Black Radio
  • Rosanne Cash - Black Cadillac
  • Sam Smith - In The Lonely Hour
  • Steve Miller Band - Fly Like an Eagle
  • Tavares - In The City
  • Tennessee Ernie Ford - Sixteen Tons
  • The Band - Music From Big Pink
  • The Band - The Band
  • The Beach Boys - Surfer Girl
  • The Beach Boys - Pet Sounds
  • The Beatles - Meet The Beatles
  • The Beatles - Revolver
  • The Beatles - Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band
  • The Beatles - The Beatles
  • The Beatles - Abbey Road
  • Tina Turner - Private Dancer
  • Various - Oklahoma
  • Various - Funny Girl
  • Wanda Jackson - There's a Party Goin' On
  • Wings - Band on the Run

No comments

Powered by Blogger.