Beatles Documentary, Sharon Jones, D.A. Pennabaker Win at the Inaugural Critics' Choice Documentary Awards

by VVN Music

Critics have given out their own awards to film and TV for quite some time but, this year, they added documentaries to their mix with the first Critics' Choice Documentary Awards.

The prizes were given out last night in Brooklyn with the seven hour TV mini-series OJ: Made in America taking four including Best Documentary and Director and the Netflix film 13th taking the same award on the other side.

For music, D.A. Pennabaker was given the Lifetime Achievement Award. Pennabaker made such music-oriented documentaries as Lambert, Hendricks & Ross (1964), Bob Dylan: Don't Look Back (1967), Monterey Pop (1968), Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders From Mars (1973), Only the Strong Survive (2002) and a number of films on Jimi Hendrix. He shared the award with his wife, Chris Hegedus, who worked with Pennabaker on a number of his post-1977 films.

Best Music Documentary went to the Ron Howard film The Beatles: Eight Days a Week - The Touring Years.

Best Song in a Documentary was I'm Still Here, written by Sharon Jones from the documentary Miss Sharon Jones!

The full winners list:
  • Best Documentary (Theatrical Feature) - O.J.: Made in America
  • Best Director (Theatrical Feature) - Ezra Edelman – O.J.: Made in America
  • Best Documentary (TV/Streaming) - 13th
  • Best Director (TV/Streaming) - Ava DuVernay – 13th
  • Best First Documentary (Theatrical Feature) - Jack Kriegman and Elyse Steinberg – Weiner
  • Best First Documentary (TV/Streaming) (TIE) - Jacob Bernstein and Nick Hooker – Everything Is Copy — Nora Ephron: Scripted and Unscripted and Deborah Esquenazi – Southwest of Salem: The Story of the San Antonio Four
  • Best Political Documentary - 13th
  • Best Sports Documentary - O.J.: Made in America
  • Best Music Documentary - The Beatles: Eight Days a Week – The Touring Years
  • Best Song in a Documentary - I’m Still HereMiss Sharon Jones – Written by Sharon Jones – Performed by Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings
  • Best Limited Documentary Series - O.J.: Made in America
  • Best Ongoing Documentary Series - 30 for 30
  • Most Innovative Documentary - The Tower
  • Lifetime Achievement Award - D.A. Pennabaker and Chris Hegedus

No comments

Powered by Blogger.