Skip to main content

ABBA, Michael Jackson, Billy Joel First Time Nominees For the Pop Music Hall of Fame

by VVN Music

In comparison to most other organizations honoring the great artists of music, the Pop Music Hall of Fame is in its infancy, yet it has already honored some of the biggest names of the rock era.

Holding their first induction in 2013, they have already honored a number of singers and groups that are overlooked by other similar halls like Nat King Cole, Johnny Mathis, Tom Jones, Andy Williams and Neil Sedaka.

The other thing that sets the Pop Music Hall of Fame apart is that the nominees are selected by musicians, disc jockeys and journalists but the inductees are chosen by the public in a vote that, this year, runs from November 2 to December 2.

This year's nominees are (first time nominees denoted with an asterisk):
  • ABBA *
  • Herb Alpert & the Tijuana Brass
  • Lou Christie
  • The Dave Clark Five
  • Petula Clark
  • John Denver *
  • Earth, Wind & Fire *
  • The 5th Dimension *
  • Four Tops
  • Aretha Franklin *
  • Marvin Gaye *
  • Herman's Hermits *
  • Michael Jackson *
  • The Jackson 5
  • Tommy James & the Shondells
  • Billy Joel *
  • Tony Orlando & Dawn *
  • Johnny Rivers *
  • Diana Ross *
  • Rod Stewart
The Pop Music Hall of Fame is located in Cannonsburg, PA, the hometown of Perry Como, Bobby Vinton and the Four Coins. Future plans include a formal museum with "a historical area to showcase the roots of the local artists, a permanent artist exhibit, a theater, office space, and rotating section of newly inducted artists."

Previously inducted:

2013 - the Beach Boys, the Beatles, Johnny Cash, Ray Charles, Nat King Cole, Perry Como, Bobby Darin, Neil Diamond, Brenda Lee, Johnny Mathis, Elvis Presley, Frank Sinatra, Bobby Vinton and Stevie Wonder.

2014 - The Bee Gees, Tony Bennett, Carpenters, Chicago, Buddy Holly, Elton John, Carole King, Dean Martin, the Monkees, Roy Orbison, Patti Page, the Platters, Simon & Garfunkel and the Supremes.

2015 - Paul Anka, Glen Campbell, Chubby Checker, the Eagles, the Everly Brothers, the Four Seasons, Tom Jones, Paul McCartney, Rick Nelson, the Righteous Brothers, Linda Ronstadt, Johnny Tillotson, and Andy Williams. The “Heritage” inductees were Les Paul and Mary Ford.

2016 - The Association, Dion and the Belmonts, the Grass Roots, the Lettermen, Barry Manilow, Paul Revere and the Raiders, Neil Sedaka, Barbra Streisand, the Temptations and Three Dog Night. The “Heritage” inductees were Louis Armstrong, Bing Crosby, the Ink Spots and the Mills Brothers