Set List: Desert Trip Day 2 With Neil Young and Paul McCartney

by Paul Cashmere, Noise11

Neil Young + Promise of the Real played the Desert Trip event in Indio, California on Saturday night, ahead of headliner Paul McCartney.

Desert Trip is three nights in the California desert. Bob Dylan and The Rolling Stones played Friday night, Neil Young and Paul McCartney Saturday and Roger Waters and The Who on Sunday night.

Young showcased new music with the unreleased Neighborhood, Show Me, Texas Rangers and Peace Trail for the Desert Trip audience. The songs were added to the Young set in recent week and indicate a new album is on the way.

Neil Young + Promise of the Real set list:
  • After the Goldrush (from After The Goldrush, 1970)
  • Heart of Gold (from Harvest, 1972)
  • Comes A Time (from Comes A Time, 1978)
  • Mother Earth (from Ragged Glory, 1990)
  • Out On The Weekend (from Harvest, 1972)
  • Human Highway (from Comes A Time, 1978)
  • Neighborhood (new, unreleased)
  • Show Me (new, unreleased)
  • Harvest Moon (from Harvest Moon, 1982)
  • Words (Between The Lines of Age) (from Harvest, 1972)
  • Walk On (from On The Beach, 1974)
  • Texas Rangers (new, unreleased)
  • Powderfinger (from Rust Never Sleeps, 1979)
  • Down By The River (from Everyone Knows This Is Nowhere, 1969)
  • Seed Justice (from Earth, 2016)
  • Peace Trail (new, unreleased)
  • Welfare Mothers (from Rust Never Sleeps, 1979)
  • Rockin’ In The Free World (from Freedom, 1989)
Later, Paul McCartney played his set for Desert Trip and Neil Young joined him for three songs.

Young came back on to perform The Beatles A Day In the Life, John Lennon’s Give Peace A Chance and, for the very first time ever live, The Beatles Why Don’t We Do It In The Road with Paul McCartney.

A Day In The Life was a common inclusion in Young’s set list about five years ago. He was using the Beatles classic as his closing song. McCartney and Young previously performed the song together in London in 2009.

Next weekend, the entire festival schedule will be played out a second time.

Paul McCartney set list:

Main Set
  • A Hard Day’s Night (from A Hard Days Night, 1964)
  • Jet (from Band On The Run, 1973)
  • Can’t Buy Me Love (from A Hard Days Night, 1964)
  • Letting Go (from Venus and Mars, 1975)
  • Day Tripper (single, 1965)
  • Let Me Roll It (from Band On The Run, 1973)
  • I’ve Got A Feeling (from Let It Be, 1970)
  • My Valentine (from Kisses On The Bottom, 2012)
  • Nineteen Hundred and Eighty-Five (from Band On The Run, 1973)
  • Maybe I’m Amazed (from McCartney, 1969)
  • We Can Work It Out (single, 1965)
  • In Spite Of All the Danger (Quarrymen song)
  • I’ve Just Seen A Face (from Rubber Soul, 1965)
  • Love Me Do (from Please Please Me, 1963)
  • And I Love Her (from A Hard Days Night, 1964)
  • Blackbird (from The Beatles, 1968)
  • Here Today (from Tug of War, 1982)
  • Queenie Eye (from New, 2013)
  • Lady Madonna (single, 1968)
  • FourFiveSeconds (single, 2015)
  • Eleanor Rigby (from Revolver, 1966)
  • Being For The Benefit of Mr Kite (from Sgt Peppers Lonely Hearts Club Band, 1967)
  • A Day In The Life (with Neil Young) (from Sgt Peppers Lonely Hearts Club Band, 1967)
  • Give Peace A Chance (with Neil Young) (John Lennon cover)
  • Why Don’t We Do It In The Road (with Neil Young) (from The Beatles, 1968)
  • Something (from Abbey Road, 1969)
  • Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da (from The Beatles, 1968)
  • Band On The Run (from Band On The Run, 1973)
  • Back In The USSR (from The Beatles, 1968)
  • Let It Be (from Let It Be, 1970)
  • Live and Let Die (single, 1973)
  • Hey Jude (single, 1968)
  • I Wanna Be Your Man (from With The Beatles, 1963)
  • Helter Skelter (from The Beatles, 1968)
  • Golden Slumbers (from Abbey Road, 1969)
  • Carry That Weight (from Abbey Road, 1969)
  • The End (from Abbey Road, 1969)

No comments

Powered by Blogger.