NRBQ to Celebrate Fifty Years With 5-CD "High Noon: A Fifty-Year Retrospective"

by VVN Music

NRBQ have been hanging around the fringes of the music world now for fifty years.

The band, whose name means New Rhythm and Blues Quartet, first came together in 1966 and, over the years, seems to have blended practically every genre of music into their sound including rockabilly, jazz, blues, pop and even a bit of standards.

Over that time, they've released over twenty studio albums, almost a dozen live sets and numerous compilations, providing plenty of material for a comprehensive retrospective of their career.

On November 11, Omnivore will release a brand new five-CD box set, High Noon: A Fifty-Year Retrospective, that collects 106 tracks from over the last half century, providing a unique perspective for devoted fans as well as for adventurous newcomers who might only know of NRBQ through other artists’ versions of originals like Me and the Boys, Ridin’ in My Car and Christmas Wish or from hearing their music on TV shows such as The Simpsons, Weeds or Wilfred.

Original member Terry Adams said "I'm very happy to have taken part in this project with Omnivore Recordings. We had a lot of fun putting it together and in doing so, we had to go back to the beginning. It has enabled me to come into direct contact with the original intent. Not only that, but I can feel the spirit of every year of the 50. The band started hot and the band keeps getting hotter!

“They say that you're not supposed to brag, but I have to. I'M WITH NRBQ.

“I think this band is like no other. First of all, we have and always have had some of the best musicians and songwriters on the planet. What we do is unlike any other rock & roll band. Music is always first. We play for the moment. We have never limited our influences and look to life itself for inspiration. I say thanks to all involved who have been there to help make it happen. Wish I could say more, but the rest of the guys just pulled into my driveway. Gotta go!”

The track list:

Disc One: Everybody Say Yeah! (2005–2016)
  • Love In Outer Space
  • Never Cop Out (Live)
  • Waitin’ On My Sweetie Pie
  • Ruby, My Dear
  • I’d Like To Know
  • Boozoo And Leona (Live)
  • I’m Alone
  • Can’t Wait To Kiss You
  • Everybody Say Yeah!
  • In Every Dream
  • Here I Am
  • The Animal Life
  • Getting To Know You
  • Talk
  • Snowfall (Live)
  • Keep This Love Goin’
  • Fightin’ Back
  • Let Go (Live)
  • Dutchess County Jail (Terry Adams & Steve Ferguson)
Disc Two: Ain’t It All Right (1966–1970)
  • Ain’t It All Right
  • Rocket Number 9
  • Tina
  • I Say Gooday Goodnite
  • Down In My Heart
  • Have You Heard
  • Dr. Howard, Dr. Fine, Dr. Howard
  • Get On The Right Track Baby (Live)
  • You Move So Fast (Live)
  • Flat Foot Flewzy
  • You Got Me Goin’
  • On The Farm
  • You Can’t Hide
  • Step Aside (Live)
  • Benellie
  • I Feel Good (Live)
  • Fergie’s Prayer
  • C’mon Everybody
  • Stomp
  • Stay With We
  • Heartbreaker (1966 Home Recording)
  • The Waiting Song The Seven Of Us
  • We Are Brothers (Live)
Disc Three: Do You Feel It? (1971–1978)
  • That’s Neat, That’s Nice
  • Green Lights
  • Help Me Somebody
  • Only You
  • This Old House
  • Ridin’ In My Car
  • Things To You
  • Do You Feel It?
  • Howard Johnson’s Got His Ho-Jo Workin’
  • Electric Train
  • Magnet
  • Honey Hush (Live)
  • Get That Gasoline Blues (Unedited Single Version)
  • It’s Not Too Late
  • It Feels Good
  • Still In School
  • Be My Woman Tonight (Live)
  • RC Cola And A Moon Pie (Single Version)
  • Get Rhythm
  • You And I And George (Live)
  • It’s Not So Hard
Disc Four: Me And The Boys (1977–1990)
  • Captain Lou with Lou Albano
  • Me And The Boys
  • Talk To Me
  • I Love Her, She Loves Me
  • Smackaroo (Instrumental)
  • This Love Is True
  • Feel You Around Me
  • Crazy Like A Fox (Live)
  • Rain At The Drive-In
  • S’posin’ (Live)
  • Wacky Tobacky
  • The One And Only
  • How Can I Make You Love Me
  • I Got A Rocket In My Pocket (Live)
  • Boy’s Life
  • Never Take The Place Of You
  • Want You To Feel Good Too
  • I Want You Bad
  • She Got The House (Live)
  • 12 Bar Blues
  • My Girlfriend’s Pretty
  • Christmas Wish
Disc Five: Puddin’ Truck (1989–2004)
  • Little Floater
  • Sail On Sail On
  • Next Stop Brattleboro
  • What You Mean To Me
  • If I Don’t Have You
  • One Big Parking Lot
  • Love Came To Me
  • Dummy
  • Terry Got A Muffin
  • It’s St. Patrick’s Day
  • 21-50 To Headquarters
  • Do The Primal Thing
  • Goodbye
  • Puddin’ Truck
  • Ain’t No Horse
  • Blame It On The World
  • Imaginary Radio
  • Always Safety First
  • Advice For Teenagers
  • Paris (Live)
  • See You Soon

No comments

Powered by Blogger.