Kenny Chesney Announces New(ish) Album

by VVN Music

Kenny Chesney was all ready to release his new album when a new song dropped into his lap, one that he knew would be the cornerstone for his new effort.

The song, Setting the World on Fire by Ross Copperman, Matt Jenkins and Josh Osborne, was recorded as a duet with P!nk and set a number marks for Chesney. It as his first single to ever chart in Australia and, in the U.S., sold 93,000 copies in its first week giving him the best seven days of sales in his career. It eventually went on to hit number 2 on the Country Singles along with 29 on the Hot 100 giving him his 25th top forty hit on the all-encompassing chart.

The problem was that Kenny's new album, Some Town Somewhere, was scheduled for release in less than a week. Chesney wanted the new song on the album so it was pulled from the schedule and revamped.

Some Town Somewhere is now called Cosmic Hallelujah and has a new release date of October 28 via Columbia Nashville.

Chesney talked about the music on the album. "I’ve been blessed with some of the best songs out there, some songs written, actually, just for this album by writers whose work I’ve loved for years. When Setting The World On Fire came together, it opened a window of time – and some songs that had come in after we were done, I didn’t have to save for the next album. Suddenly, everything was changing, and the album I’m releasing now has a lot of what made Some Town Somewhere capture the essential part of who the No Shoes Nation is, but really takes the your-life-is-now piece of The Big Revival and expands it."

The brand new track list for Cosmic Hallelujah:
  • Trip Around the Sun
  • All the Pretty Girls
  • Setting the World on Fire (with P!nk)
  • Noise
  • Bucket
  • Bar at the End of the World
  • Some Town Somewhere
  • Rich and Miserable
  • Jesus and Elvis
  • Winnebago
  • Coach

Setting the World on Fire is Chesney's sixteenth studio album.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.