Suzy Bogguss Releasing Stripped Down Version of Her Breakout Album, "Aces"

by VVN Music

Country singer Suzy Bogguss had been kicking around Nashville for some time before she finally broke out with her 1991 album Aces.

Suzy released two independent albums in 1981 and 1986 before signing with Capitol Records where she released two sets, Somewhere Between (1989) and Moment of Truth (1990), neither of which burned up the charts although the single Cross My Broken Heart did make it to number 14.

Then came Aces. Her first album on a new contract with Liberty Records, the LP included four hits (Someday Soon (1991 / #12), Outbound Plane (1991 / #9), Aces (1992 / #9) and Letting Go (1992 / #6)) and went platinum. It was also her highest charting album on the Country charts.

Over the years, Bogguss has not only received requests to play the hits from Aces but, also, many of the deeper tracks; however, it was hard to recreate the sound of the album with her current touring band of three people.

So Bogguss went back in the studio to rerecord the album with instrumentation much closer to what she plays today. That album, Aces Redux, is out on tomorrow.

Bogguss said "I wanted to look at each song and say, 'How would we play this if it were a brand new song we were working up?' Yellow River Road got more rugged because I’ve grown as a vocalist. I like to play things a little tougher now. On some songs I stayed a little closer to the original version. On Outbound Plane you can hear different instruments but it's still got that jangly guitar."

Suzy will premier the new versions at a show at Nashville's 3rd & Lindsley on Thursday night.

Bogguss scored eleven top forty country hits between 1989 and 1998. Her latest albums include American Folk Songbook (2011) and Lucky (2014).

The track list for Aces Redux:
  • Outbound Plane
  • Aces
  • Someday Soon
  • Let Goodbye Hurt
  • Save Yourself
  • Yellow River Road
  • Part of Me
  • Letting Go
  • Music on the Wind
  • Still Hold On

No comments

Powered by Blogger.