Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame to Induct Townes Van Zandt, Beth Nielsen Chapman, Bob Morrison and Aaron Baker

by VVN Music

The Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame has named their four inductees for 2016.

Townes Van Zandt kicked around his hometown of Houston before Mickey Newbury convinced him to move to Nashville. In Music City, he came under the guidance of Cowboy Jack Clement who produced a series of albums.

Known for his poetic but often sad songs (he suffered from bipolar disease), his many songs include Mister Can't You See, If I Needed You, To Live is to Fly and Pancho and Lefty.

Beth Nielsen Chapman has also had a successful recording career along with music written for other artists. Her eleven studio albums have included everything from her own songs to an album of hymns.

As a recording artists, she has had three top twenty adult contemporary hits but it is as a songwriter that she has truly shined. Her first major hit came in 1988 when Tanya Tucker went to number 1 with Strong Enough and she followed with Highway 101's All the Reasons Why, Willie Nelson's Nothing I Can Do About It, Lorrie Morgan's Five Minutes, Alabama's Here We Are, Martina McBride's Happy Girl and Faith Hill's This Kiss.

Bob Morrison originally studied to be a nuclear engineer before moving to Nashville in 1970 to try his hand at songwriting. It wasn't until 1976 that he had his first major success with Dickey Lee's Angels, Roses and Rain. All together, he has had over a dozen top ten country hits, including a few that crossed over to the pop charts, including You're the One (Oak Ridge Boys), You Decorated My Life, Love the World Away (both Kenny Rogers), Are You On the Road to Loving Me Again (Debbie Boone), Lookin' For Love (Johnny Lee), I Still Believe in Waltzes (Loretta Lynn & Conway Twitty) and Don't Call Him a Cowboy (Twitty).

Aaron Barker played for a couple of decades in unsuccessful bands before hitting with his very first song, George Strait's Baby Blue. Strait went on to record many other Baker compositions including Love Without End, Amen, Easy Come Easy Go, I'd Like to Have That One Back, I Can Still Make Cheyenne and I Know She Still Loves Me.  For other artists, he had major hits with Not Enough Hours in the Night (Doug Supernaw), Watch This and You're Beginning to Get to Me (Clay Walker) and What About Now (Lonestar).

The four songwriters will be formally inducted on October 9 at Nashville's Music City Center. This will bring the number of members of the hall to 203.

1 comment

Anonymous said...

Not a soul more deserving than Townes Van Zandt! Gosh I miss him and his great songwriting and music.

Powered by Blogger.