Jeff Lynne's ELO Leads Classic Rock Award Nominees

by VVN Music

England's Classic Rock magazine has announced the nominees in four categories for their Classic Rock Awards.

Jeff Lynne's ELO received two nominations for their comeback album Alone in the Universe and for Band of the Year. The rest of the nominees only received a nod in one of the two categories including Clutch, Def Leppard, David Gilmour, Iggy Pop, AC/DC, Black Sabbath, Guns N' Roses and Iron Maiden.

In the category of Reissue of the Year, nominations went to six veteran acts including Alex Harvey, Fleetwood Mac, Metallica, Queen, the Ramones and Slade.

The editors of Classic Rock also pick winners in a number of categories which will be announced between now and the November 11 ceremony which will be held this year in Tokyo, Japan.

Those wanting to vote can go to Classic Rock's site.

The nominees for the categories in which fans can vote:

Album of the Year
  • Psychic Warfare - Clutch
  • Def Leppard - Def Leppard
  • Alone in the Universe - Jeff Lynne's ELO
  • Rattle That Lock - David Gilmour
  • Post Pop Depression - Iggy Pop
  • White Bear - The Temperance Movement
Band of the Year
  • AC/DC
  • Black Sabbath
  • Guns N' Roses
  • Iron Maiden
  • Jeff Lynne's ELO
Reissue of the Year
  • The Last of the Teenage Idols - Alex Harvey
  • Tusk - Fleetwood Mac
  • The Complete Studio Recordings - Metallica
  • The Studio Collection - Queen
  • Ramones (40th Anniversary Deluxe Edition) - Ramones
  • When Slade Rocked the World 1971 - 1975 - Slade
Best New Band
  • A Thousand Horses
  • Ming City Rockers
  • Tax the Heat
  • The Record Company
  • The Struts
  • Whiskey Meyers

No comments

Powered by Blogger.