Willie Nelson to Play the Music of Ray Price on New Album With Help From the Time Jumpers

by VVN Music

Willie Nelson is going a bit retro for his new album, For the Good Times: A Tribute to Ray Price, right down to the album jacket that looks like a Columbia cover from the 60's. For the Good Times will be out on September 16 via Legacy Recordings.

Nelson and Price had a longtime friendship and collaborated a number of times over the years. In 1960, Nelson moved to Nashville where he signed with Pamper Music, owned by Price and Hal Smith. It was there that he wrote such early classics as Funny How Time Slips Away, Crazy and Night Life.

Price heard the latter and recorded the song, taking it to 28 on the country singles chart. He also hired Nelson to play bass in his touring band, replacing the departed Johnny Paycheck.  Nelson also played acoustic guitar on Price's 1961 album San Antonio Rose.

The pair recorded an album of the same name that was released in 1980, reaching number 3 on the Country Albums. The album included two hit singles, Faded Love (1980 / #3 Country) and Don't You Get Tired of Hurting Me (1980 / #11). Two years later, they also collaborated with Roger Miller on the song Old Friends (1982 / #19 Country).

In 2003, they once again got together for the album Run That By Me One More Time and, in 2007, Last of the Breed with Merle Haggard.

For the new album, Nelson brought in producer Fred Foster and conductor/arranger Bergen White who both had worked with Price in the past including his final album, Beauty Is...

Joining Nelson for six of the album's twelve tracks is the band the Timejumpers, made up of Vince Gill, Andy Reiss, Larry Franklin, Joe Spivey, Kenny Sears, Brad Albin, Billy Thomas, Jeff Taylor, Paul Franklin and Willie Family Band's member Mickey Raphael.

The album also recreates the orchestral accompaniments for which Price was so famous with the help of the Nashville String Machine.

The track list:
  • Heartaches By The Number (featuring The Time Jumpers)
  • I'll Be There (If You Ever Want Me) (featuring The Time Jumpers)
  • Faded Love
  • It Always Will Be
  • City Lights (featuring The Time Jumpers)
  • Don't You Ever Get Tired Of Hurting Me (featuring The Time Jumpers)
  • Make The World Go Away
  • I'm Still Not Over You
  • Night Life
  • Crazy Arms (featuring The Time Jumpers)
  • Invitation To The Blues (featuring The Time Jumpers)
  • For The Good Times

No comments

Powered by Blogger.