Temple of the Dog to Reunite and Tour, UMe Releasing Deluxe Version of Their Album

by VVN Music

Temple of the Dog, the supergroup with Soundgarden's Chris Cornell, Pearl Jam's Jeff Ament, Stone Gossard and Mike McCready and drummer Matt Cameron, have reunited and will tour for the first time.

Temple of the Dog was conceived by Cornell in 1990 as a tribute to the late Andrew Wood of Malfunkshun and Mother Love Bone. After assembling the rest of the band, they went in the studio, initially to record a couple of songs but, eventually, they put together a full album.

Released in April of 1991, the album initially sold just 70,000 copies and failed to chart but, a year later, A&M decided to put a new push behind the set after the bands of the members began to have their own albums, Badmotorfinger and Ten, takeoff. With the new promotion, the album went to number 5 in the U.S. and 11 in Canada.

The band has played a couple of songs live here and there but only performed a full, one hour, set once during the time they were writing and recording the album. This November, the reunited group will go on tour for the first time, playing five cities, Philadelphia, New York, San Francisco, Los Angeles and their hometown of Seattle.

Cornell said of the new tour, "We wanted to do the one thing we never got to do … play shows and see what it feels like to be the band that we walked away from 25 years ago."

A special ticket pre-sale for fans signed up to the Ten Club, Soundgarden, and Chris Cornell email lists begins immediately and runs through July 27. Tickets will go on sale to the general public on Friday, July 29, at 12:00 PM local time. $1.50 from each ticket sold will benefit the Chris and Vicky Cornell Foundation and an additional $1.50 will benefit Pearl Jam's Vitalogy Foundation.

The dates:
  • 11/04 - Philadelphia, PA - Tower Theater
  • 11/07 - New York, NY - Madison Square Garden
  • 11/11 - San Francisco, CA - Bill Graham Civic Center
  • 11/14 - Los Angeles, CA - The Forum
  • 11/20 - Seattle, WA - Paramount Theater
In addition, to mark the 25th anniversary of the release of their only album, UMe will put out an expanded version in 2-CD/DVD/Blu-Ray, 2-CD, single-CD and double vinyl LP configurations.

The contents of the Super Deluxe edition:

Disc 1
  • Original album newly mixed in 192/24 stereo by Brendan O'Brien
  • Plus 3 Alternate Mixes newly mixed from multi-tracks by Adam Kasper – Say Hello 2 Heaven, Wooden Jesus and All Night Thing
Disc 2
  • 7 demos - 5 unreleased including 2 songs that didn't make final album sessions: Angel of Fire and Black Cat
  • 5 Studio Outtakes newly mixed from multi-tracks by Adam Kasper – Say Hello 2 Heaven, Reach Down, Pushin Forward Back, Wooden Jesus and All Night Thing
  • 11/13/90: Off Ramp Cafe video shot by Badmotorfinger producer, Terry Date (previously unseen/unreleased)
    • Hunger Strike
    • Wooden Jesus
    • Say Hello 2 Heaven
    • Reach Down
    • Call Me A Dog
    • Times of Trouble
  • 12/90: Say Hello 2 Heaven originally shot on film and newly transferred to HD (newly edited and never before seen in its entirety)
  • 9/8/92: Lollapalooza, Phoenix Hunger Strike surprise performance
  • Official Hunger Strike music video
  • 9/11: PJ20 Alpine Valley fan shot and edited videos including:
    • 9/3/11
      • Say Hello 2 Heaven
    • 9/4/11
      • Hunger Strike
      • Call Me A Dog
      • All Night Thing
      • Reach Down
    • All HD quality; includes Pearl Jam's stereo mix from the live multi-tracks from this event plus HD pit footage from the Pearl Jam archives
  • 1/15: Call Me A Dog and Reach Down from Madseason's 2015 Benaroya Hall concert (newly edited and never-before-seen)
  • Newly mixed 96kHz 24-bit 5.1 Surround mix by Adam Kasper (Superunknown 5.1 mixer)
  • 96kHz 24-bit stereo mix by Brendan O'Brien
  • Official Hunger Strike music video in 5.1
  • HD versions of the bonus videos in stereo only

No comments

Powered by Blogger.