Set List: The Cure Play Four Encores in Auckland, New Zealand

by Paul Cashmere, Noise11

The Cure have arrived in Australia for shows in Sydney and Melbourne this week after performing a 36 song set list in Auckland, New Zealand on July 21.

Despite the thorough trip through their musical history, The Cure managed to play an almost completely different setlist to what they were doing in London last December. The Cure set list has always been about digging deep for the fans and they do not disappoint.

The Cure have had 13 studio albums since Three Imaginary Boys in 1979 and they haven’t released a new album since 4:13 Dream in 2008. The Auckland set went back as far as the second album, Seventeen Seconds (1980) represented by A Forest, but in London they performed the title track from Three Imaginary Boys so like every Cure show, they keep the audience guessing.

One new song It Can Never Be The Same was in the setlist.

The set list:

Main Set
  • Plainsong (from Disintegration, 1989)
  • Pictures of You (from Disintegration, 1989)
  • Closedown (from Disintegration, 1989)
  • High (from Wish, 1992)
  • A Night Like This (from The Head On The Door, 1985)
  • Push (from The Head On The Door, 1985)
  • In Between Days (from The Head On The Door, 1985)
  • Friday I’m In Love (from Wish, 1992)
  • Catch (from Kiss Me Kiss Me Kiss Me, 1987)
  • The Caterpillar (from The Top, 1984)
  • The End of the World (from The Cure, 2004)
  • Lovesong (from Disintegration, 1989)
  • Sleep When I’m Dead (from 4:13 Dream, 2008)
  • Just Like Heaven (from Kiss Me Kiss Me Kiss Me, 1987)
  • Jupiter Crash (from Wild Mood Swings, 1996)
  • From the Edge of the Deep Green Sea (from Wish, 1992)
  • Want (from Wild Mood Swings, 1996)
  • The Hungry Ghost (from 4:13 Dream, 2008)
  • Prayers for Rain (from Disintegration, 1989)
  • Disintegration (from Disintegration, 1989)
Encore 1
  • It Can Never Be the Same (new, unreleased)
  • Burn (from The Crow soundtrack, 1994)
  • One Hundred Years (from Pornography, 1982)
  • A Forest (from Seventeen Seconds, 1980)
Encore 2
  • Shake Dog Shake (from The Top, 1984)
  • Fascination Street (from Disintegration, 1989)
  • Never Enough (from Galore, 1997)
  • Wrong Number (single, 1997)
Encore 3
  • Lullaby (from Disintegration, 1989)
  • Hot Hot Hot!!! (from Kiss Me Kiss Me Kiss Me, 1987)
  • The Walk (from Japanese Whispers, 1983)
  • Close To Me (from The Head On The Door, 1985)
Encore 4
  • The Lovecats (from Japanese Whispers, 1983)
  • Let’s Go to Bed (from Japanese Whispers, 1983)
  • Why Can’t I Be You (from Kiss Me Kiss Me Kiss Me, 1987)
  • Boys Don’t Cry (single, 1979)

No comments

Powered by Blogger.