Rare Soul Sides by Washington Soul Duo Gene & Eddie and Sir Joe Quarterman to Be Released

via Press Release

Omnivore Recordings continues its restoration and reissue of the mid-’60s Baltimore-based R&B/soul label Ru-Jac Records with True Enough: Gene & Eddie With Sir Joe at Ru-Jac, the first-ever compilation of single sides by Washington D.C.’s sensational soul duo Gene & Eddie. Also included are the rare sides by Sir Joe, otherwise known as Joe Quarterman, producer/songwriter/artist, who produced and wrote many of the Gene & Eddie sides for Ru-Jac.

The compilation is scheduled for September 2, 2016 release on CD, blue vinyl LP (with download card) and digital.

Emerging from the very active East Coast ’60s soul scene, Gene, Eddie and Joe had been in bands and recording from the early part of the decade. They formed, or joined, regional acts with names like The Nightcaps, The Knights, Don Downing, The El Corols and The Maidens, sharing stages with bigger, national artists such as Major Lance, Garnet Mimms, Joe Simon, The Soul Children, and The Emotions.
For all their ambitions, wider, national success never found them, and with only one local chart hit to their name, It’s So Hard, they eventually all called it quits to pursue other endeavors; however, these restored tracks give us a window onto a time when East Coast doo-wop met the soul explosion and got a little funky as it headed into the early ’70s.

Featuring rare photos and extensive liner notes, this is the definitive musical history of Gene & Eddie and Sir Joe Quarterman. Omnivore’s Ru-Jac reissue initiative launched with the March 25 release of Mr. Clean: Winfield Parker at Ru-Jac.

Track listing:
  • I Would Cry
  • I Tell You
  • Nobody Beats My Love (Sir Joe)
  • If You Give Up Your Love (Sir Joe)
  • You Don’t Fool Me
  • Let Me Go Easy
  • It’s So Hard
  • Sweet Little Girl
  • Let Me Go Easy (Alternate Version)
  • She’s True Enough
  • Baby, I’d Drop Every Thing (Sir Joe)
  • Every Day (I’ll Be Needing You) (Sir Joe)
  • It’s No Sin
  • You’ve Got To Love Me Sometimes
  • Darling I Love You
  • Why Do You Hurt Me
Bonus Tracks (CD and Download only):
  • It’s So Hard
 (Eddie & Gene and the Nightcaps)
  • Check You Later 
(Eddie & Gene and the Nightcaps)
  • A Guy For You (Sir Joe)
  • You Don’t Fool Me (Stereo Mix)
  • Let Me Go Easy (Stereo Mix)

No comments

Powered by Blogger.