R&B Trio The Temprees Return With New Album

by VVN Music

The Temprees, who recorded for the Stax Records subsidiary We Produce Records, have returned with a brand new album, From the Heart, out now on Point 3 Records.

The Temprees were formed in Memphis in the mid-60's as the Lovemen with Jasper "Jabbo" Phillips, Harold "Scotty" Scott, Deljuan "Del" Calvin and Larry Dodson while all were still in junior high.

By 1970, Dodson had moved on to the Bar-Kays and the remaining trio signed with Stax Records, releasing their first single, (Follow Her) Rules and Regulations. It wasn't until their fourth release, Explain it to Her Mama (1972 / #47 R&B) that they hit the national charts and they peaked with their next release, Dedicated to the One I Love, which hit 17 on the R&B singles. Overall, the had three singles make the R&B top 100 on We Produce and one on Epic where they signed after the collapse of Stax.

They also released three albums between 1972 and 1974 along with a best of in 1984. In 2000, the group reunited for the album Because We Love You on High Stacks Records. When Phillips died in 2001, the band went on an extended hiatus to concentrate on their families.

The newest edition of the group includes original members Calvin and Scott along with Walter "Bo" Washington.

From The Heart was produced by Angelo Earl, a multi-talented seasoned musician himself, whose resume includes the likes of Al Green, Jody Whatley, and Dr Dre.

All the songs were written by Calvin and Earl except Reasons, a 1975 Maurice White and Phillip Bailey penned tune, that was on an Earth, Wind & Fire album That's the Way of the World. Maurice White, who passed away this spring, was a fellow Memphian and friend.

On the track We Do Music, the trio gives a history lesson of Stax Records Studios, calling out label mates like Otis Redding, Isaac Hayes, Rufus Thomas and The Bar-kays.  As the song comes to an end, they shout out to the different cities around the U.S. while chanting, “We Do Music,” bringing the country in a little closer for that group hug.

They dip their harmonies into some funk and dance beats to get the party started on Paparazzi. It’s all about having fun with dancing and singing, a song with a groove that will remind fans of The Commodores, Kool & The Gang and the late Prince.

The track list:

  • From the Heart
  • We Do Music
  • Love Again
  • Keep It Real
  • Say Goodbye
  • Half Empty Half Full
  • Reasons
  • Baby Dada
  • Paparazi
  • She's Magic
  • Live Your Life

No comments

Powered by Blogger.