John Prine Records Country Covers Album With Alison Krauss, Susan Tedeschi, Miranda Lambert & More Female Vocalists

by VVN Music

John Prine has recorded a new album of country covers in duets with a number of female vocalists.

For Better, Or Worse will be released on September 30 via his own Oh Boy Records and, unlike other cover albums, this one digs deep for some lesser known country songs along with a few country classics.

His regular duet partner, Iris Dement is along once again with two songs (Who's Gonna Take the Garbage Out and Mr. & Mrs. Used to Be) while Prine also has recorded two songs with Lee Ann Womack and Kathy Mattea. Also included are such greats as Alison Krauss, Susan Tedeschi, Holly Williams, Miranda Lambert, Kacey Musgraves, Morgane Stapleton and Amanda Shires.

Prine also duets with his wife, Fiona, on My Happiness and finishes the album alone on Just Waiting.

As far as source material, Prine looked to the likes of Hank Williams, George Jones, Ernest Tubb, Buck Owens and other classic artists. John said "I cut my teeth on Hank Williams songs. When I sing these songs there is a small pipeline straight from my heart to my lips."

Who's Gonna Take the Garbage Out has been released as the first single and is available now.

The track list:
  • Who’s Gonna Take The Garbage Out (featuring Iris Dement)
  • Storms Never Last (featuring Lee Ann Womack)
  • Falling In Love Again (featuring Alison Krauss)
  • Color Of The Blues (featuring Susan Tedeschi)
  • I’m Telling You (featuring Holly Williams)
  • Remember Me (featuring Kathy Mattea)
  • Look At Us (featuring Morgane Stapleton)
  • Dim Lights, Thick Smoke (featuring Amanda Shires)
  • Fifteen Years Ago (featuring Lee Ann Womack)
  • Cold Cold Heart (featuring Miranda Lambert)
  • Dreaming My Dreams (featuring. Kathy Mattea)
  • Mental Cruelty (featuring Kacey Musgraves)
  • Mr. & Mrs. Used To Be (featuring Iris Dement)
  • My Happiness (featuring Fiona Prine)
  • Just Waiting

No comments

Powered by Blogger.