B-52's to Release Live Album of 1979 Show

by VVN Music

Last year, the B-52's released an archived live show from 1979 on digital sites. On August 5, that album will finally make itself to CD.

Live 8.24.1979 was recorded at Berklee College in Boston just six weeks after the release of the band's debut album. They were opening for the Talking Heads at the time and, as the band writes, "We were a little scared of the audience so we kept our heads down and focused – and we danced like mad when there was a break! Ricky was so fierce on the guitar – so intense – it was all so raw and live and we loved it."

The nine song set included five tracks from The B-52's (1979) and four that would end up on their 1980 release Wild Planet.

The B-52's originally formed in 1976 and released their first single, Rock Lobster, two years later. Four of the five original members, Fred Schneider, Kate Pierson, Cindy Wilson and Keith Strickland are still with the band today. The fifth member, Ricky Wilson, died in 1985.

The track list:
  • 52 Girls (With Intro)
  • 606-0842
  • Lava
  • Private Idaho
  • Devil in My Car
  • Dance This Mess Around
  • Runnin' Around
  • Rock Lobster
  • Strobe Light

No comments

Powered by Blogger.