Set List: Culture Club Kicks Off World Tour in Australia

by Paul Cashmere, Noise11

Culture Club have performed their first show with the complete original line-up in Australia for the first time in 16 years.

While the tour includes a big band with more than a dozen members, the audience was out to relive the classic hits from the classic line-up of Boy George, Roy Hay, Mikey Craig and Jon Moss.

As well as the classics, Adelaide’s Culture Club fans were also treated to five new song, presumably from the forthcoming Tribes album. Tribes is a bit of a mystery. The album was crowdfunded through PledgeMusic back in 2014 but fans are still waiting for its release. According to the PledgeMusic site, it is coming “early 2016’ but we’ve overshot that runway. One song, More Than Silence, has been released to fans.

The setlist was all the songs you expected with the only glaring omission being any representation from the third Culture Club album Waking Up With the House. While the album wasn’t the success of the previous two, it did contain two hits, The War Song and Mistake No. 3. Maybe they’ll resurface somewhere along the tour.

A few covers made the set. Boy George’s solo version of Bread’s Everything I Own was a hit for George and Bowie’s Starman was recorded by Culture Club for their 1999 album Don’t Mind If I Do.

Main Set
  • Church of the Poison Mind (from Colour By Numbers, 1983)
  • It’s A Miracle (from Colour By Numbers, 1983)
  • I’ll Tumble 4 Ya (from Kissing To Be Clever, 1982)
  • Everything I Own (from Boy George’s Sold, 1987)
  • Let Somebody Love You (unreleased)
  • Black Money (from Colour By Numbers, 1983)
  • Victims (from Colour By Numbers, 1983)
  • Move Away (from From Luxury To Heartache, 1986)
  • Human Zoo (unreleased)
  • Time (Clock of the Heart) (single, 1982)
  • The Crying Game (from The Cry Game OST, 1992)
  • Different Man (unreleased)
  • Miss Me Blind (from Colour By Numbers, 1983)
  • Runaway Train (unreleased)
  • Do You Really Want To Hurt Me? (from Kissing To Be Clever, 1982)
  • More Than Silence (from Tribes, 2016)
  • Karma Chameleon (from Colour By Numbers, 1983)
  • Bang A Gong (Get It On) (T. Rex cover)
  • Starman (from Don’t Mind If I Do, 1999)

No comments

Powered by Blogger.