Meat Loaf to Release New Album With Long Time Collaborator Jim Steinman

via Press Release

Grammy Award-winning musician and acclaimed film, TV and stage actor Meat Loaf, is readying the release of his highly anticipated new album, Braver Than We Are for 429 Records.

Working closely again with longtime collaborator Jim Steinman, a key to the magic of multi-platinum selling albums Bat Out of Hell and Bat Out of Hell II: Back Into Hell, Meat has recorded ten songs in tandem with Steinman, producer Paul Crook and The Neverland Express which includes John Miceli (drums), Paul Crook (guitars, loops, synths), Randy Flowers (guitars, vocals), David Luther (sax, B3 organ, strings, horn arrangements), Justin Avery (piano, synths, strings, backing vocal arrangements), Danny Miranda (bass), Stacy Michelle (vocals) and Cian Coey (vocals). Guest musician Ricky Medlocke provided the slide guitar solo on Train of Love.

The tracks on Braver Than We Are were written by Steinman, featuring the first song he ever wrote in a storied career to the most recent. While Crook produced the album, Steinman acted as creative consultant throughout the recording process working alongside Paul and Meat from beginning to end sending suggestions, adding verses and contributing opinions on every aspect.

The first single to radio, Going All The Way, showcases a reunion with vocalists Ellen Foley and Karla DeVito decades after their first performances on the smash hit Paradise by the Dashboard Light. The single is available for purchase now at iTunes.

429 Records will release Braver Than We Are digitally, on CD and vinyl in Europe on September 9 and the U.S. and rest of the world on September 16.

In a career spanning over four decades, Braver Than We Are is Meat Loaf's fourth album featuring songs exclusively written by Jim Steinman. With a painting featuring Meat and Jim together for the first time gracing the cover, the album hearkens back to the hugely successful Meat-Steinman collaborations Bat Out of Hell (1977) and Bat Out of Hell II: Back Into Hell (1993), which together sold over 67 million units. Braver Than We Are is a testament to Meat's artistic rapport with Steinman. The songwriter's strikingly vivid style matched with Meat's incomparable talents not to mention his wit and grandiosity, results in the two successfully connecting with audiences on an epic scale.

"It's a tribute to Jim Steinman really," said Meat Loaf. "It's a tribute to both of us and our work together."

Track List:
  • Who Needs The Young
  • Going All The Way
  • Speaking In Tongues
  • Loving You Is A Dirty Job
  • Souvenirs
  • Only When I Feel
  • More
  • Godz
  • Skull of Your Country
  • Train of Love
Additional tracks on Target exclusive version:
  • For What It's Worth (feat. Stephen Stills)
  • Prize Fight Lover
  • I Would Do Anything For Love (Orchestral Version feat. Imelda May)

No comments

Powered by Blogger.