Hall & Oates, Ice Cube, N'SYNC, New Edition Among 34 New Hollywood Walk of Fame Star Recipients

by VVN Music

The curators of the Hollywood Walk of Fame announced the entertainers who would be receiving stars during 2017.

Since 1958, more than 2,500 motion picture, TV, music, live performance and radio entertainers have been enshrined on the walk and, in 2017, 34 new plaques will be added.

In the music field, the honorees will be:
  • Clarence Avant - Known as the "Godfather of Black Music", Avant is a music executive who founded Sussex Records (Bill Withers, Gallery), Tabu Records (SOS Band, Kool and the Gang) and Avant Garde Broadcasting.
  • Jerry Goldsmith - Composer of such notable film scores as The Sand Pebbles, Planet of the Apes, Patton, Chinatown, Alien, three Rambo films and five Star Trek films. 
  • Hall & Oates - The most successful duo in music history with hits such as Sara Smile, Kiss on My List, Maneater and I Can't Go For That (No Can Do).
  • Ice Cube - Original member of N.W.A. whose solo hits included It Was a Good Day and Natural Born Killaz. As an actor, he has appeared in Boyz n the Hood, Friday, Three Kings, Barbershop and many more.
  • John Legend - One of the most admired of the modern day singers of traditional soul, Legend's hits include Green Light and All of Me.
  • N'SYNC (Justin Timberlake, Joey Fatone, Lance Bass, J.C. Chasez, Chris Kirkpatrick) - N'SYNC came out of the mid-90's resurgence of boy bands with nine top twenty hits including Bye Bye Bye, It's Gonna Be Me and This I Promise You.
  • New Edition (Ricky Bell, Michael Bivins, Bobby Brown, Ronnie DeVoe, Johnnie Gill, Ralph Tresvant) - Few groups have had such success together followed by every one of the members, in this case six, going on to successful solo careers. New Editions hits together included Cool It Now, Hit Me Off and I'm Still in Love With You.
  • Selena - The Tejano singer who was at the top of her career when she was brutally murdered by a fan, she managed to cross over to the English language market with such hits as Dreaming of You and I'm Getting Used to You.
Honorees were also announced in the four other categories:
  • Motion Pictures
    • Amy Adams
    • Jason Bateman
    • Goldie Hawn
    • Dwayne Johnson
    • Chris Pratt
    • Brett Ratner
    • Ryan Reynolds
    • George A. Romero
    • Mark Ruffalo
    • Rita Wilson
  • Television
    • Tyra Banks
    • Andre Braugher
    • Ken Corday
    • Lee Daniels
    • Hugh Laurie
    • Eva Longoria
    • Wolfgang Puck
    • Keri Russell
    • Haim Saban
    • George Segal
    • Sarah Silverman
    • Jeffrey Tambor
  • Live Theater
    • Chris Angel
    • Jeff Dunham
    • Gustavo Dudamel
  • Radio
    • Elvis Durant

No comments

Powered by Blogger.