Skip to main content

More Information on the New Radiohead Album "A Moon Shaped Pool"

by Paul Cashmere, Noise11

Radiohead’s ninth album, A Moon Shaped Pool, was released hours ago for digital download.

A Moon Shaped Pool contains 11 new Radiohead tracks, two of which, Burn The Witch and Daydreaming, were made available during late last week.

A Moon Shaped Pool was produced once again by Radiohead’s long-time producer Nigel Godrich, who has worked on every Radiohead album since OK Computer.

While A Moon Shaped Pool is now available for download fans seeking the higher quality physical versions of the album will have to wait until June 17 for the CD and vinyl editions and September for the special limited collectors edition based on vintage package used for 78rpm releases in the 40s and 50s. The collectors edition will also include a piece of ½ inch master tape from the actual recording sessions of the albums.

The track list:
  • Burn The Witch
  • Daydreaming
  • Decks Dark
  • Desert Island Disk
  • Ful Stop
  • Glass Eyes
  • Identikit
  • The Numbers
  • Present Tense
  • Tinker Tailer Soldier Sailor Rich Man Poor Man Beggar Man Thief
  • True Love Waits
  • Case bound album, inspired by the albums for 78rpm shellac records in the library of La Fabrique, France
  • 32 pages of artwork
  • The 11 track album on two heavyweight 12″ vinyl records
  • Two compact discs: one with the album and one with two extra tracks
  • Recording tape belly band applied (This is a piece of a Radiohead ½ inch master tape from an actual recording session. The tape degrades over time and becomes unplayable. We thought rather than it ending up as landfill we would cut it up and make it useful as a part of the special edition. A new life for some obsolete technology… Each loop contains about ¾ of a second of audio – which could be from any era in the band’s recording past going back to Kid A. You may have silence, you may have coloured leader tape, you may have a chorus… It’s a crapshoot. We have copies. Don’t worry.)
  • Gatefold sleeve with silver foil cover
  • The 11 track album on two heavyweight 12″ vinyl records
  • Card to redeem a 320kbit MP3 or 16-bit WAV download of the 11 track album when you receive the vinyl
  • Gatefold sleeve with silver foil cover
  • 12 page full colour booklet
  • The 11 track album on one CD