Jeff Beck to Release New Album, "Loud Hailer", on July 15

by VVN Music

Jeff Beck will release his first album in six years, Loud Hailer, on July 15.

Loud Hailer, which is another name for a megaphone, is Beck's sixteenth solo album and the followup to his 2010 set Emotion & Commotion, itself his first album in seven years and his highest charting since 1975's Blow by Blow.

Beck said of the new set "I really wanted to make a statement about some of the nasty things I see going on in the world today, and I loved the idea of being at a rally and using this loud device to shout my point of view."

Jeff collaborated on the new album with singer Rosie Bones and guitarist Carmen Vandenberg whom he met at a birthday party for Roger Taylor last year. "She invited me to one of their shows, and I was blown away. When we got together in January, I explained the subject matter I had in mind, we sat down by the fire with a crate of Prosecco and got right to it. The songs came together very quickly; five in three days."

Along with the main trio, Loud Hailer also includes drummer Davide Sollazzi and bassist Giovanni Pallotti, who were both recruited by Filippo Cimatti, Beck's co-producer for the album.

Bones lends her powerful voice to nine of the 11 songs on Loud Hailer, including the intense album opener The Revolution Will Be Televised, the reflective ballad Scared For The Children, the funk infused O.I.L. and the tranquil album closer Shrine. The album is rounded out by two signature Beck instrumentals in Pull It and Edna.

Beck follows the release of the album with a U.S. tour with Buddy Guy and a new book, BECK01, which combines his passion for rock music with his hot rodding. BECK01 will be available on July 12.

The track list
  • The Revolution Will Be Televised
  • Live In The Dark
  • Pull It
  • Thugs Club
  • Scared For The Children
  • Right Now
  • Shame
  • Edna
  • The Ballad Of The Jersey Wives
  • O.I.L. (Can't Get Enough Of That Sticky)
  • Shrine

No comments

Powered by Blogger.