Cold Chisel to Be Honored With Australia's APRA Ted Albert Award

by Paul Cashmere, Noise11

Cold Chisel will be honored with the Ted Albert Award for Outstanding Services To Australian Music at the 2016 APRA Awards on April 5.

Cold Chisel formed as Orange in Adelaide in 1973. The line-up featured Don Walker, Ian Moss, Steve Prestwich and bass player Les Kaczmarek with 17-year old Jim Barnes joining in December that year. Kaczmarek left in 1975 and was replaced by Phil Small. Jimmy’s brother John Swan was also part of the early line-up but left before the first album was recorded.

Cold Chisel’s debut album came in 1978 after the band signed with Warner Music in Sydney. The album features one of Chisel’s greatest songs Khe Sanh but the song was banned by commercial radio for the line “Their legs were often open/But their minds were always closed” so never became a hit.

Cold Chisel recorded five albums between 1978 and 1984, breaking up at the peak of their career. Chisel would reform in the late 90s to record a sixth album The Last Wave of Summer. The seventh album No Plans followed in 2012 and then the most recent album The Perfect Crime in 2015.

In the U.S., their 1980 album East was the only one that charted, making it to 171 on the Billboard 200. Barnes, as a solo artist, has actually done better, charting two albums (A Week Away From Paradise (1985 / #109), Freight Train Heart (1987 / #104)) and reaching number 3 on the U.S. Rock chart twice with Good Times (with INXS / 1986) and Too Much Ain't Enough Love (1987).

Previous recipients of the Ted Albert Award for Outstanding Services to Australian Music include Paul Kelly, Jimmy Little, Slim Dusty, The Seekers and last year’s recipient, Fifa Riccobono.

The 2016 APRA Awards will be held at Carriageworks in Sydney on April 5.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.