Lush Returns With Their First New Music Since 1996

by Paul Cashmere, Noise11

Lush have returned with their first new music in 20 years.

Four new songs will be released on the band’s Blind Spot EP due in April.

Blind Spot was recorded in mid-2015 at Lime Green Monkeys studio with Jim Abbiss (Adele) and Daniel Hunt (Ladytron).

Miki Berenyi said,“It certainly took sometime to come together, but once we were in the studio, everything came together incredibly quickly. It was great fun! It’s been a long time since I’ve written Lush lyrics, and I realised early on with this EP that what I wrote about then is not what I feel comfortable writing about now. My perspective, and what is close to my heart, has changed, and I think that’s conveyed in the songs.”

Bassist Phil King added, “I know I’m biased, but I work for a music magazine and so much of the music I hear played in the office sounds non-descript or derivative. Emma has this way of writing unusual chord changes and manages to weave lovely melodies over the top, and it immediately sounds distinctive, like Lush.”

Blind Spot is the first music for Lush since the Lovelife album of 1996.

Watch the video for the first track Out of Control.

The track list for Blind Spot:

  • Out Of Control
  • Lost Boy
  • Burnham Beeches
  • Rosebud

The Blind Spot EP will be released in the band’s own Edamane Records on 15 April 2016.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.