Listen: First New Music Since 1971 From the Original Santana Band

by Paul Cashmere, Noise11

The first taste of Santana’s Santana IV album has been revealed with Anywhere You Want To Go.

Santana IV is the first album from the original Santana band in 45 years. The line-up features Carlos Santana (guitar, vocals), Gregg Rolie (keyboards, lead vocals), Neal Schon (guitar, vocals), Michael Carabello (percussion) and Michael Shrieve (drums).

The last time this line-up recorded together was for the Santana III album released in 1971.

Carlos Santana confirmed the reformation of the original band in an exclusive interview for in February 2013. “So far we have invited the original members like Greg Rolie from the first three albums,” he told Noise11. “It will be like Santana IV because we stopped at ‘Santana III’”.

At that point he added, “As well as Neal we have the two Mikes, Mike Carabello and Michael Shrieve. I am pretty sure Greg’s going to do it. So that is pretty much everyone.”

Days earlier Journey’s Neal Schon, who was 16-years old when he joined Santana, had told, “I’ve reconnected with Carlos Santana now and we have been talking about doing something together again. We’ve talked a lot on the telephone and I hooked up with him before Christmas. You never know what’s going to happen. Life is full of surprises. It’s very exciting.”

So here it is, your first taste of Santana IV, Anywhere You Want To Go.

1 comment

DrBOP said...

Thanks for this.....sounds like they still got it. Looking forward to the tour.

Powered by Blogger.