Skip to main content

Company to Reissue Glenn Miller Music on 78's

The resurgence in the sales of vinyl takes another turn backwards in time with the release of new 78's by the Texas based company Rollofone Records.

Right until the late 1950s, records spun at a much higher speed, at 78 revolutions per minute, allowing only a few minutes of music on a 10 inch record. Most modern record players can't even play the old 78s, but there's a world wide and vibrant community that cherishes, collects and plays these gems.

Those folks will soon have something new to spin on their players and in their jukeboxes. Rollofone Records announced today, that it will release a set of 5 records with 10 of the most famous tunes by Glenn Miller and his orchestra, on old fashioned 78 RPM vinyl. Company officials underlined the fact that the music has been taken and remastered from the original metal archive records, which are safely stored in vaults at RCA (now Sony) music.

"We received tremendous support from Sony," Michaela Merz, Rollofone's owner and sound engineer said. "Without their support, this wouldn't have been possible."

Even the Glenn Miller family has endorsed the project:
My father has brought joy and happiness to many people around the world. Thousands and thousands listened to his music, on the radio, playing in jukeboxes or on record players at home. Though the taste of music has changed, his tunes are not forgotten. This record collection has been lovingly created by Michaela Merz and her Rollofone team to bring the wonderful Glenn Miller sound back to where it belongs: to jukeboxes and record players. It has been taken from the valuable original metal parts, faithfully remastered with equipment that might have been used back then so that you can enjoy the music the way it was created and recorded and without unnecessary digital enhancements or effects. I wish you all the and a wonderful time listening to Glenn Miller and his orchestra.

The Glenn Miller Family
"Though the targeted market is small and the production release limited, almost half of the record sets have already been sold," says Mrs. Merz.

The track list:
  • Over The Rainbow
  • American Patrol
  • Yours is My Heart Alone
  • Moonlight Serenaderf_listen1
  • Tuxedo Junction
  • Pennsylvania 6-5000
  • Imagination
  • To You
  • Fools Rush In
  • In the Mood