Soul Asylum to Release "Change of Fortune" on March 18

Soul Asylum will release their eleventh studio album, Change of Fortune, on March 18 via eOne Music.

The album, of which lead singer Dave Pirner says "Everything on the menu is excellent", is partially being funded by a PledgeMusic campaign which offers pledger exclusives that include signed copies of the new album, your name in the liner notes, live and rare Grave Dancers Union download, custom t-shirt designed for Pledgers only, Skype drum workshop with Michael Bland, guest list for life, private acoustic show, private full band concert, original Dave Pirner artwork, vintage band promotional posters and much more. Pledging also allows access to a Pledger-only section of the site where the band is continuously posting video updates, audio clips and more. New pledger exclusives are being added weekly so check it out at

Chuck Oliner, Director of Marketing and Promotions for eOne Music, said "We are thrilled to be working with such a great trailblazing band as Soul Asylum. We wait to lead off 2016 with the first single from their new album Change of Fortune. Loyal Soul Asylum fans will be blown away with the new album, and new fans will understand why we are all so excited they are back. Welcome back Soul Asylum, and get ready to see Dave, Michael, Winston and Justin on tour in 2016."

After several indie releases on Minneapolis’ Twin/Tone Records and A&M, Soul Asylum released its groundbreaking album Grave Dancers Union, which included the Grammy Award winning Runaway Train. Soul Asylum followed up this success with Let Your Dim Light Shine in 1995, which climbed to number 6 on the Billboard 200 and featured the chart topping Modern Rock track Misery. After releasing Candy From a Stranger in 1998, the band members wanted to concentrate on writing and took a break from recording. The band reconvened in 2004 to begin work on their ninth full-length album, joined by a new drummer, Michael Bland. Sadly, shortly thereafter, bassist Karl Mueller was diagnosed with throat cancer and passed away after finishing his work on the new album. The Silver Lining was released in 2006 and was dedicated to Karl’s life and memory. The band took a long and unscheduled hiatus as they grieved and dealt with the loss of their friend and band-mate. In 2012 Soul Asylum released the aptly titled Delayed Reaction that was deemed “quick to embrace” by influential music blog Consequence of Sound.

Change of Fortune is three years in the making, recorded while the band toured non-stop, had a few line-up changes. The heart and soul of Soul Asylum remains with David Pirner on guitar and vocals, Michael Bland on drums, Winston Roye on bass and Justin Sharbono on guitar.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.