Previously Unreleased Greg Lake and Geoff Downes Album Released

A previously unreleased album from the 80's by Greg Lake and Geoff Downes was finally released last Friday by Cherry Red Records in the U.K.

The two artists had first played together in 1983 during an Asia tour of Japan but it wasn't until 1988 that the two collaborated on a number of songs that were to become an album called Ride the Tiger. While the album was never released, one of the songs ended up being recorded by Asia, two by Emerson, Lake and Palmer and four made it to previous compilations. The other two on the new set have never been released along with an alternate mix of the song Love Under Fire.

Lake said of the new set "“To be honest I thought that these recordings had simply disappeared off the radar until one of my management team, Daniel Earnshaw, reminded me of their existence. My initial reaction was not entirely positive as I generally view many of these re-releases to be a bit tiresome, however, upon hearing these recordings again I immediately identified their value, both in terms of song writing and of musicianship and production. Geoff, of course, is a masterful musician with an instinctive ability to maximize the potential of any song both as a player and as an arranger. His contribution to these recordings is clear for all to see and for me it was a real pleasure to reflect upon our friendship together both personally and as musicians.”

Downes added “One of the privileges of my career has been the opportunity to embrace a number of bespoke projects with some of the world’s greatest musicians. Greg Lake, of course was at the forefront of the progressive revolution, lead vocalist and bassist with both King Crimson and ELP, bands which literally changed the world, pushing boundaries of excellence and creativity, creating a brand new musical genre from London which would soon captivate the planet. This collection of songs represents a particularly creative period in my life. I’m delighted that Greg and I have rekindled our friendship, and worked together again in order to share this collection with you.”

The track list:
  • Money Talks
  • Love Under Fire
  • Affairs Of The Heart
  • Street Wars
  • Check It Out
  • Blue Light
  • Love Under Fire (alternate mix)

No comments

Powered by Blogger.