Loretta Lynn to Release First Album in Ten Years With Guests Willie Nelson, Elvis Costello

Loretta Lynn will release her first new album in ten years, Full Circle, on March 4 via Legacy Recordings.

The album was produced by Patsy Lynn Russell and John Carter Cash and recorded at Cash Cabin Studio in Hendersonville, TN.

Full Circle takes listeners on a journey through Loretta's musical story, from the Appalachian folk songs and gospel music she learned as a child, to new interpretations of her classic hits and country standards, to songs newly-written for the project. Drawing inspiration from personal memories and deep connections to American music, Lynn's 13 new recordings capture the essence of these songs in intimate new performances.

Full Circle is Loretta's first album of new recordings since Van Lear Rose, her 2004 collaboration with Jack White, which took home a pair of Grammys including Best Country Album of the Year. It is also volume one of the Cash Cabin Recordings, a series of new album projects imagined and created at the Cash Cabin Studio in Hendersonville, Tennessee.

Highlights from Full Circle include Lay Me Down, a duet with Willie Nelson; Everything It Takes, featuring guest vocals from Elvis Costello; Whispering Sea, a new version of the first song Loretta ever wrote; and soulful new renditions of some of Lynn's classic tunes, including rousing renditions of Everybody Wants to Go to Heaven and Fist City. The album also includes traditional Appalachian songs from Loretta's childhood such as Black Jack David and I Never Will Marry. At 83 years old, Lynn's voice sounds as powerful as ever, and this new material only adds to her legend as a performer.

Fans will also have an opportunity to watch a new documentary about Loretta's remarkable life and career when American Masters — Loretta Lynn: Still a Mountain Girl premieres nationwide Friday, March 4, 2016, 9:00-11:00 p.m. on PBS (check local listings). The film will explore the country legend's hard-fought road to stardom. From her Appalachian roots to the Oscar-winning biopic of her life, Coal Miner's Daughter, Lynn struggled to balance family and her music career and is still going strong over 50 years later.

The track list:
  • Whispering Sea (Introduction)
  • Whispering Sea
  • Secret Love
  • Who's Gonna Miss Me?
  • Black Jack David
  • Everybody Wants To Go To Heaven
  • Always On My Mind
  • Wine Into Water
  • In The Pines
  • Band Of Gold
  • Fist City
  • I Never Will Marry
  • Everything It Takes (featuring Elvis Costello)
  • Lay Me Down (featuring Willie Nelson)

No comments

Powered by Blogger.