Two New Johnny Cash Live Albums to Be Released by Columbia/Legacy

Two live albums by Johnny Cash, one from 1971 and the other from 1978, are set for release by Columbia/Legacy over the next four months.

In 1971, Cash was asked to star in his own concert special for Danish Television. That performance will be released on December 4 as Johnny Cash's Man in Black: Live in Denmark 1971. Previously only available on DVD, this edition will be out both on CD and on a 2-LP red and white vinyl edition.

Joining Cash for the special were his band, the Tennessee Three, wife June Carter Cash, the Carter Family, Carl Perkins and the Statler Brothers.

The track list:
  • A Boy Named Sue
  • Sunday Morning Coming Down
  • I Walk the Line
  • Blue Suede Shoes – Carl Perkins
  • Matchbox – Carl Perkins
  • Me and Bobby McGee
  • Guess Things Happen That Way
  • Bed of Roses – The Statler Brothers
  • Flowers on the Wall – The Statler Brothers
  • Folsom Prison Blues
  • Darlin’ Companion – with June Carter Cash
  • If I Were a Carpenter – with June Carter Cash
  • Help Me Make It Through the Night – with June Carter Cash
  • Man in Black
  • Introduction to The Carter Family
  • A Song to Mama – The Carter Family
  • No Need to Worry – with The Carter Family & The Statler Brothers
  • Rock of Ages – with The Carter Family & The Statler Brothers
  • Children, Go Where I Send Thee – with Carl Perkins, The Carter Family & The Statler Brothers
Then, on February 5, the April 11, 1978 concert at Sportovní hala in Prague, Czechoslovakia will be released as a single CD.

The show was the first by a music artist of Cash's stature behind the iron curtain and was arranged by the Czech government to see how audiences would react to American music. Cash played four shows before a total of 40,000 people.

The concert was previously available in the 2012 box set Johnny Cash: The Complete Columbia Album Collection and as a red vinyl limited edition for Record Store Day 2015. This is the first time it has been put out on a standalone CD.

The track list:
  • Ring Of Fire
  • Folsom Prison Blues
  • I Still Miss Someone
  • Big River
  • Cowboy Medley: I Ride an Old Paint / Streets Of Laredo
  • Sunday Morning Coming Down
  • I Walk the Line
  • Last Date
  • City of New Orleans
  • Railroad Medley: Hey Porter / Wreck Of the Old ’97 / Casey Jones / Orange Blossom Special
  • Wabash Cannonball

No comments

Powered by Blogger.