The Earls of Leicester Clean Up at the International Bluegrass Music Awards

The Earls of Leicester, made up of veteran musicians Jerry Douglas, Tim O'Brien, Shawn Camp, Charlie Cushman and Barry Bales along with Johnny Warren cleaned up on Thursday night at the International Bluegrass Music Association Awards (IBMA), taking home Entertainer of the Year, Album of the Year, Instrumental Group of the Year and Gospel Performance of the Year.

If that weren't enough, members Douglas won Dobro Player of the Year and Camp took Male Vocalist of the Year.

Their self titled debut album was a tribute to Lester Flatt and Earl Scruggs and also took home a Grammy earlier in the year.

It was a big night overall for veteran bluegrass artists who, beyond vocal group Balsam Range and newcomer Becky Buller, were winners in almost every category.

The awards were held at the Duke Energy Center in Raleigh, NC and were hosted by Eric and Leigh Gibson of the Gibson Brothers. Performers included the Del McCoury Band and a duet by Alison Krauss and Larry Sparks

The winners:
  • Entertainer of the Year - The Earls of Leicester
  • Female Vocalist of the Year - Rhonda Vincent
  • Male Vocalist of the Year - Shawn Camp
  • Vocal Group of the Year - Balsam Range
  • Instrumental Group of the Year - The Earls of Leicester
  • Song of the Year - Moon Over Memphis - Balsam Range
  • Album of the Year - The Earls of Leicester - The Earls of Leicester
  • Gospel Recorded Performance of the Year - Who Will Sing for Me - The Earls of Leicester
  • Instrumental Recorded Performance of the Year: - The Three Bells - Jerry Douglas, Mike Auldridge, Rob Ickes
  • Emerging Artist of the Year - Becky Buller
  • Recorded Event of the Year - Southern Flavor - Becky Buller, with Peter Rowan, Michael Feagan, Buddy Spicher, Ernie Sykes, Roland White, and Blake Williams
  • Banjo Player of the Year - Rob McCoury
  • Bass Player of the Year - Tim Surrett
  • Dobro Player of the Year - Jerry Douglas
  • Fiddle Player of the Year - Michael Cleveland
  • Guitar Player of the Year - Bryan Sutton
  • Mandolin Player of the Year - Jesse Brock
  • Inductees into the Bluegrass HOF - Bill Keith and Larry Sparks
  • Distinguished Achievement Award - Alison Brown, Murphy Henry, International Bluegrass Music Museum, “Bashful Brother” Oswald Kirby, Steve Martin
Special Awards:
  • Broadcaster of the Year - Chris Jones, Bluegrass Junction, Sirius XM
  • Event of the Year (tie) - A Lester Flatt Celebration 2014, Sparta, Tennessee and 42nd RockyGrass Festival, Lyons, Colorado
  • Graphic Design for a Recorded Product - Michael Gerstenberger (designer), Complete Recordings 1936-55, Chuck Wagon Gang, Bear Family Productions
  • Liner Notes for a Recorded Project - Eddie Stubbs and Bill Malone, Complete Recordings 1936-55, Chuck Wagon Gang, Bear Family Productions
  • Print/Media Person of the Year - Gary Reid, author, The Music of the Stanley Brothers and The Bluegrass Hall of Fame Inductee Biographies 1991-2014
  • Songwriter of the Year - Becky Buller
2015 International Bluegrass Music Momentum Awards
  • Instrumentalists - Annie Staninec (fiddle)
  • Vocalist - Summer McMahan (Mountain Faith)
  • Band - Lonely Heartstring Band
  • Industry Involvement Award, Media/Artisan/Business/General - Alan Tompkins (promoter, radio broadcaster, association leader)
  • Festival/Event/Venue - ISIS Restaurant and Music Hall – Asheville, NC
  • Mentor Award  (given to a bluegrass professional who has made a significant impact on the lives and careers of newcomers to the bluegrass industry) - Andrea Roberts (Andrea Roberts Agency)

No comments

Powered by Blogger.