Previously Unreleased Roy Orbison Album and Box Set Coming December 4

Fifty years ago this year, Roy Orbison left Monument Records where he had so many of his legendary hits and signed with MGM, starting a brand new phase of his career.

On December 4, UMe, in conjunction with Roy's Boys, LLC, will release two brand new packages comprising his MGM catalog and a brand new, previously unreleased album.

One of the Lonely Ones was recorded in 1969 but never released. It's a 12-track lost Roy Orbison album never-before-heard by the public that was recently discovered by Roy's sons. This rediscovered treasure will be released on CD, digitally and on sumptuous 180-gram vinyl.

Recorded between January and August of 1969, One of the Lonely Ones is a great Roy Orbison studio album. Kicking it off is a sensational version of You'll Never Walk Alone, the Rodgers and Hammerstein classic that charted for Britain's Gerry & the Pacemakers in 1965. The Roy penned, guitar-heavy, Child Woman, Woman Child can be considered the musical younger sister of Oh, Pretty Woman. Plus, ten other never before heard Roy tracks. A lost treasure found!

One of the Lonely Ones was transferred from the original tape at the famed Blackbird Studio in Nashville, TN and the tracks were individually mixed by Chuck Turner (whose credits include Johnny Cash, Dolly Parton, Alison Krauss and Marty Stuart) at the Cash Cabin under Alex Orbison's supervision. Finally, the restored-to-stereo tracks were put in the capable hands of Richard Dodd for mastering.

Out the same day is The MGM Years, a box set that contains all of Roy's 11 MGM studio albums, the soundtrack to The Fastest Guitar Alive (written by Roy and Bill Dees for the film starring Roy Orbison) and an album of B-sides and singles from that era. The box set is available as a 13 CD box, a digital box, or as a special 14 disc 180-gram vinyl release. All this material has been out of print for decades - 152 tracks in total.

The MGM Years box set finally puts all of these fabulous records in one place. Each song was additionally re-EQ'd and balanced by Roy's son Alex and Grammy-winning engineer Chuck Turner to bring the masters back to their original warm vinyl sound. All this amazing material has been generally out of circulation for decades! Each original album comes with fully restored artwork and each album has been fastidiously remastered by Grammy-winning engineer Richard Dodd. The box set includes a beautifully bound booklet with extensive liner notes written by Alex Orbison, Roy's youngest son, and never before seen photos.

The first 500 physical The MGM Years box sets (either CD or LP) pre-ordered through The Official Roy Orbison Store ( will be bundled with a copy of the unreleased One of the Lonely Ones album in the same format and for the same price as the box set alone on release. All those who take advantage of this limited time offer will also be promptly emailed a download code to instantly download the One of the Lonely Ones title track.

The track list for One of the Lonely Ones:
  • You'll Never Walk Alone
  • Say No More
  • Leaving Makes the Rain Come Down
  • Laurie
  • Sweet Memories
  • One of the Lonely Ones
  • Child Woman, Woman Child
  • The Defector
  • Give Up
  • Little Girl (In the Big City)
  • After Tonight
  • I Will Always
The track list for The MGM Years:

Disc 1 (There Is Only One Roy Orbison (1965))
  • Ride Away
  • You Fool You
  • Two of a Kind
  • This is Your Song
  • I'm in a Blue, Blue Mood
  • If You Can't Say Something Nice
  • Claudette
  • Afraid to Sleep
  • Sugar and Honey
  • Summer Love
  • Big as I Can Dream
  • Wondering
Disc 2 (The Orbison Way (1966))
  • Crawling Back
  • It Ain't No Big Thing (With the Candy Men)
  • Time Changed Everything (With the Candy Men)
  • This Is My Land
  • The Loner
  • Maybe (With the Candy Men)
  • Breakin' Up is Breakin' My Heart
  • Go Away (With the Candy Men)
  • A New Star
  • Never (With the Candy Men)
  • It Wasn't Very Long Ago
  • Why Hurt the One Who Loves You
Disc 3 (The Classic Roy Orbison (1966))
  • You'll Never Be Sixteen Again
  • Pantomime
  • Twinkle Toes
  • Losing You
  • City Life
  • Wait
  • Growing Up
  • Where Is Tomorrow
  • (No) I'll Never Get Over You
  • Going Back to Gloria
  • Just Another Name for Rock and Roll
  • Never Love Again
Disc 4 (Roy Orbison Sings Don Gibson (1967))
  • (I'd Be) A Legend in My Time
  • (Yes) I'm Hurting
  • The Same Street
  • Far Far Away
  • Big Hearted Me
  • Sweet Dreams
  • Oh, Such A Stranger
  • Blue, Blue, Day
  • What About Me
  • Give Myself A Party
  • Too Soon to Know
  • Lonesome Number One
Disc 5 (The Fastest Guitar Alive (Soundtrack) (1967))
  • Whirlwind
  • Medicine Man
  • River
  • The Fastest Guitar Alive
  • Rollin' On
  • Pistolero
  • Good Time Party
  • Heading South
  • Best Friend
  • There Won't Be Many Coming Home
Disc 6 (Cry Softly Lonely One (1967))
  • She
  • Communication Breakdown
  • Cry Softly Lonely One
  • Girl Like Mine
  • It Takes One (To Know One)
  • Just Let Me Make Believe
  • Here Comes the Rain Baby
  • That's A No No
  • Memories
  • Time to Cry
  • Only Alive
Disc 7 (Roy Orbison's Many Moods (1969))
  • Truly, Truly True
  • Unchained Melody
  • I Recommend Her
  • More
  • Heartache
  • Amy
  • Good Morning, Dear
  • What Now, My Love
  • Walk On
  • Yesterday's Child
  • Try to Remember
Disc 8 (Hank Williams the Roy Orbison Way (1970))
  • Kaw-Liga
  • Hey, Good Lookin'
  • Jambalaya
  • (Last Night) I Heard You Crying in Your Sleep
  • You Win Again
  • Your Cheatin' Heart
  • Cold, Cold Heart
  • A Mansion on the Hill
  • I Can't Help It (If I'm Still in Love with You)
  • There'll Be No Teardrops Tonight
  • I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry
Disc 9 (The Big O (1970))
  • Break My Mind
  • Help Me Rhonda
  • Only You
  • Down the Line
  • Money
  • When I Stop Dreaming
  • Loving Touch
  • Land of 1,000 Dances
  • Scarlet Ribbons
  • She Won't Hang Her Love Out (On the Line)
  • Casting My Spell On You
  • Penny Arcade
Disc 10 (Roy Orbison Sings (1972))
  • God Love You
  • Beaujolais
  • If Only for Awhile
  • Rings of Gold
  • Help Me
  • Plain Jane Country (Come to Town)
  • Harlem Woman
  • Cheyenne
  • Changes
  • It Takes All Kinds of People
  • Remember The Good
Disc 11 (Memphis (1972))
  • Memphis, Tennessee
  • Why A Woman Cries
  • Run, Baby, Run (Back into My Arms)
  • Take Care of Your Woman
  • I'm The Man On Susie's Mind
  • I Can't Stop Loving You
  • Run The Engines Up High
  • It Ain't No Big Thing
  • I Fought the Law
  • The Three Bells
  • Danny Boy
Disc 12 (Milestones (1973))
  • I Wanna Live
  • You Don't Know Me
  • California Sunshine Girl
  • Words
  • Blue Rain (Coming Down)
  • Drift Away
  • You Lay So Easy On My Mind
  • The World You Live In
  • Sweet Caroline
  • I've Been Loving You Too Long (To Stop Now)
  • The Morning After
Disc 13 (MGM B-Sides And Singles (2015) (2 discs in vinyl box set, 1 disc in CD box set))
  • So Good
  • Born to Be Loved by You
  • Shy Away
  • Flowers
  • Sugar Man
  • My Friend
  • Southbound Jericho Parkway
  • Tennessee Owns My Soul
  • She Cheats On Me
  • How Do You Start Over
  • So Young
  • If I Had a Woman Like You
  • (Love Me Like You Did It) Last Night
  • Close Again
  • I Can Read Between the Lines
  • Sooner or Later

1 comment

Dorothy Doyle said...

Say No More and After Tonight were written by Sammy King of Batley West Yorkshire who wrote Penny Arcade.

Powered by Blogger.