Fats Domino Concert From 1973 to Be Released

Fats Domino’s studio recordings inspired everyone from reggae legend Bob Marley to The Beatles, whose Lady Madonna was as a direct homage to the early rock pioneer but, while his songs were often imitated, Fats’s live performances were absolutely untouchable, a rollicking ride through boogie jump classics like Let The Four Winds Blow and My Girl Josephine on to his all-time classic hits such as Blueberry Hill, Ain’t That A Shame, Walking To New Orleans and many more. On stage, Fats attacked his piano from every which way as sweat poured from his brow, all the while keeping that magnificent, signature smile front and center, making everything he did look as effortless as a pleasant Sunday stroll.

Now music fans are able to hear this early rock pioneer’s explosive energy on a 1973 recording recently released on CD in its entirety for the first time from Goldenlane Records. Thrillin’ In Philly - Live 1973 features an amazingly clear, professionally mixed multi-track recording that brings Fats’s brilliant hits to life. For good reason to as music journalist Dave Thompson’s liner notes reveal, this show captures Fats in the midst of a stellar, career-reviving tour that introduced him to a whole new generation of fans. He was playing for posterity, to preserve his legacy, and you can hear it!

Track List
  • Let The Four Winds Blow
  • Blueberry Hill
  • Please Don’t Leave Me
  • When My Dreamboat Comes Home
  • Walking To New Orleans
  • My Blue Heaven
  • Ain’t That A Shame
  • I’m In Love Again
  • Poor Me
  • My Girl Josephine
  • Goin’ To The River
  • Whiskey Heaven
  • I’m Gonna Be A Wheel Someday
  • When The Saints Go Marching In
  • What A Price
  • The Fat Man
  • Another Mule
  • Going To Mardi Gras
  • Your Cheatin’ Heart
  • The Sheik Of Araby
  • I Want To Walk You Home
  • Jambalaya (On The Bayou)

No comments

Powered by Blogger.