The Flaming Lips to Release a 3-CD Deluxe Edition of "Clouds Taste Metallic"

by Paul Cashmere, Noise11

The Flaming Lips have packaged up their seventh album, Clouds Taste Metallic, into an expanded 20th anniversary edition to be called Heady Nuggs 20 Years After Clouds Taste Metallic 1994-1997.

Clouds Taste Metallic was the final guitar driven alternative album for The Flaming Lips before they went their version of contemporary.

It was the final album for guitarist Ronald Jones. After Jones departed the band, The Flaming Lips rarely performed anything from the album and only started to add back tracks to the set list in 2014. On February 24 this year, The Flaming Lips performed the album in its entirety to mark the 20th anniversary of the release.

Disc 1: Clouds Taste Metallic
  • The Abandoned Hospital Ship
  • Psychiatric Explorations Of The Fetus With Needles
  • Placebo Headwound
  • This Here Giraffe
  • Brainville
  • Guy Who Got A Headache And Accidentally Saves The World
  • When You Smile
  • Kim’s Watermelon Gun
  • They Punctured My Yolk
  • Lightning Strikes The Postman
  • Christmas At The Zoo
  • Evil Will Prevail
  • Bad Days (aurally excited version)
Disc 2
  • Due To High Expectations The Flaming Lips Are Providing Needles For Your Balloons
    • Bad Days
    • Jets Part 2 (My Two Days As An Ambulance Driver)
    • Ice Drummer
    • Put The Waterbug In the Policeman’s Ear
    • Chewin’ the Apple Of Yer Eye
    • Chosen One
    • Little Drummer Boy
    • Slow Nerve Action
  • The King Bug Laughs (Oddities and Rarities)
    • It Was A Very Good Year
    • Sun Arise
    • Life on Mars
    • Ballrooms of Mars
    • Hot Day
    • Nobody Told Me
    • Magician Vs The Headache
    • She Don’t Use Jelly (Live @KJ103)
Disc 3: Psychiatric Explorations of the Fetus with Needles (Live in Seattle 1996)
  • The Abandoned Hospital Ship
  • Unconsciously Screamin’
  • Take Meta Mars
  • Moth In The Incubator
  • Put The Waterbug In The Policeman’s Ear
  • Lightning Strikes The Postman
  • Bad Days
  • She Don’t Use Jelly
  • Chewin’ The Apple Of Yer Eye
  • When You Smile
  • Psychiatric Explorations Of The Fetus With Needles
  • Love Yer Brain
  • Placebo Headwound
Warner Music will issue Heady Nuggs 20 Years After Clouds Taste Metallic 1994-1997, on November 27th.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.