The Beatles "1" to Be Rereleased in New Edition With 50 Videos

One of the biggest selling albums of the last 25 years is the Beatles compilation 1 and, on November 6, Apple Corps Ltd. and UMG will release a new version in a number of formats with fifty promotional films and videos.

The 27-track CD/DVD and CD/Blu-ray pairs beautifully restored videos for each song, with new stereo and 5.1 Dolby Digital and DTS HD surround audio mixes. The brand new Beatles 1+ celebrates their career in over 200 minutes through 50 promotional films and videos. This includes the 27 No.1s, with the restored videos, along with a second disc of 23 videos, including alternate versions, as well as rarely seen and newly restored films and videos; all include new audio mixes in deluxe CD/2DVD and CD/2Blu-ray packages. The 27-track audio CD is also being made available with new stereo mixes. A 2LP, 180-gram vinyl package will follow.

The new editions of The Beatles 1 have been made possible following extensive research, and restoration of the original promo films, classic television appearances and other carefully selected videos spanning the band's history. Apple Corps dug deep into The Beatles' vaults to select a broad range of films and videos for their rarity, historical significance and quality of performance. An 18-person team of film and video technicians and restoration artists was assembled by Apple Corps to undertake painstaking frame-by-frame cleaning, color-grading, digital enhancement and new edits that took months of dedicated, 'round-the-clock work to accomplish.

The result is a visual rundown of The Beatles' number one records, as well as the additional tracks on the bonus disc of Beatles 1+ that show the band in previously unseen standards of clarity and quality; many of the films and videos have never before been commercially released, in whole or in part.

The Beatles 1 and 1+ offer the restored films, including 35mm negatives scanned in 4K and digitally restored with new stereo and 5.1 surround audio remixes, produced from the original analogue tapes by the GRAMMY® winning team of Giles Martin with Sam Okell at Abbey Road Studios. For four of the videos, Paul McCartney and Ringo Starr have provided exclusive audio commentary and filmed introductions, respectively. The 1+ Deluxe Edition is presented in an expanded 124-page illustrated hardcover book which includes 'an appreciation' of The Beatles' groundbreaking films and videos by music journalist and author Mark Ellen and extensive, detailed track/video annotation by music historian and author Richard Havers.

The formats for the release:

  • Single CD
  • Single DVD
  • Single Blue-Ray
  • CD/DVD
  • CD/Blu-Ray
  • CD/2-DVD (1+)
  • CD/2-Blu-Ray (1+)
The track lists:

Beatles 1

Disc 1 Audio (CD) + Disc 1 Video (DVD or Blu-ray) (same track list)
  • Love Me Do
  • From Me To You
  • She Loves You
  • I Want To Hold Your Hand
  • Can't Buy Me Love
  • A Hard Day's Night
  • I Feel Fine
  • Eight Days a Week
  • Ticket To Ride
  • Help!
  • Yesterday
  • Day Tripper
  • We Can Work It Out
  • Paperback Writer
  • Yellow Submarine
  • Eleanor Rigby
  • Penny Lane
  • All You Need Is Love
  • Hello, Goodbye
  • Lady Madonna
  • Hey Jude
  • Get Back
  • The Ballad of John and Yoko
  • Something
  • Come Together
  • Let It Be
  • The Long and Winding Road
Disc 1 DVD or Blu-Ray Extras
  • Paul McCartney audio commentary
    • Penny Lane
    • Hello, Goodbye
    • Hey Jude
  • Ringo Starr filmed introductions
    • Penny Lane
    • Hello, Goodbye
    • Hey Jude
    • Get Back

The Beatles 1+ (CD/2DVD; CD/2Blu-ray)

Disc 1 Audio (CD) + Disc 1 Video (DVD or Blu-ray)
  • Same as above
Disc 2 Video (DVD or Blu-ray)
  • Twist & Shout
  • Baby It's You
  • Words Of Love
  • Please Please Me
  • I Feel Fine
  • Day Tripper *
  • Day Tripper *
  • We Can Work It Out *
  • Paperback Writer *
  • Rain *
  • Rain *
  • Strawberry Fields Forever
  • Within You Without You/Tomorrow Never Knows
  • A Day In The Life
  • Hello, Goodbye *
  • Hello, Goodbye *
  • Hey Bulldog
  • Hey Jude *
  • Revolution
  • Get Back *
  • Don't Let Me Down
  • Free As A Bird
  • Real Love
Disc 2 Video Extra
  • Paul McCartney audio commentary on Strawberry Fields Forever
* alternate version

1 comment

Anonymous said...


Powered by Blogger.