Skip to main content

"Guardians of the Galaxy" Gets a New Volume of 70's Music With "Cosmic Mix, Volume 1"

One of the biggest hit albums of the past year was an unlikely soundtrack album filled with classic top 40 songs from the 70's, Guardians of the Galaxy: Awesome Mix, Vol. 1.

While we are yet to get a volume two, Hollywood Records and Marvel Music are releasing a new 70's compilation tied in with their new Disney XD animated version of Guardians of the Galaxy. Marvel's Guardians of the Galaxy: Cosmic Mix Vol. 1 includes hits from such artists as The James Gang (twice!), Joe Walsh, Dobie Gray, Thin Lizzy, Three Dog Night and Gloria Gaynor along with the repeating, as the opening cut, of Blue Swede's version of Hooked on a Feeling.

Marvel's Guardians of the Galaxy will premier on Saturday, September 26 at 9:30 PM with a one-hour special. The new soundtrack album will be out on October 16.

The track list:
  • Hooked On a Feeling – Blue Swede
  • Funk No. 49 – The James Gang
  • Drift Away – Dobie Gray
  • Walk Away – The James Gang
  • Boys Are Back in Town – Thin Lizzy
  • Shake Your Groove Thing – Peaches and Herb
  • Funk Funk – Cameo
  • Joy to the World – Three Dog Night
  • I Will Survive – Gloria Gaynor
  • Rocky Mountain Way – Joe Walsh
  • So You Are a Star – Hudson Brothers
  • Don't Stop Me Now – Queen


This comment has been removed by the author.