Clint Black Releasing "On Purpose", His First Album in Ten Years

Clint Black will return to the country scene on September 25 with his first album in ten years, On Purpose.

Black last was in the studio to record 2005's Drinkin' Songs and Other Logic which turned out to be his first studio album to not make the country top ten. Between 1989 and 2000, Clint had 29 top ten country singles including thirteen number ones.

Among the fourteen tracks on the album which he recorded at his Nashville studio are his third duet with wife Lisa Hartman Black, You Still Get to Me. Other guests include Big and Rich on the song Beer which was written by Bill Anderson and Bob DiPiero.

Black said of the album "Musically, On Purpose is right where I want to be. I pushed myself hard for this album, doing more of the guitar work, even playing slide guitar for the first time."

On the title track, "On Purpose comes from a line in the song ‘Better and Worse,’” notes Black. “It represents my attitude towards life, in that it’s never easy to ‘go your own way,’ but the rewards are greater when you follow your heart."

The track list:

  • Time for That
  • Better And Worse
  • Summertime Song
  • One Way To Live
  • Doing It Now For Love
  • You Still Get To Me (featuring Lisa Hartman Black)
  • Right On Time
  • Still Calling It News
  • Making You Smile
  • Stay Gone
  • Breathing Air
  • Beer (featuring Big and Rich)
  • The Trouble
  • The Last Day

On Purpose, his twelfth studio effort, is being released on Thirty Tigers/Black Top Records.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.