Set List: Ride Play First Concert in Twenty Years

by Newsdesk

Yesterday evening (April 5), as the nation enjoyed the last of their Easter eggs, a somewhat lesser publicised resurrection took place in Oxford; the long awaited live comeback of Ride.

The band - one of Creation Records' first global success stories - played their first concert together in 20 years in their own hometown, in front of just 500 fans at a special warm up show at the O2 Academy2.

Announced only last week, this intimate show saw Mark Gardener, Andy Bell, Laurence 'Loz' Colbert and Steve Queralt back on a concert stage together for the first time since their last show at Benicassim in 1995. Tickets for this club show sold out within minutes and fans were treated to a 90 minute set which included favourites Vapour Trail, Twisterella, Drive Blind and Chelsea Girl.

This show heralded the start of Ride's 2015 world tour, which sees them at Coachella in California next weekend along with dates on the West and East coasts, before heading back to the UK in May for a run of sold out shows in Glasgow, London and Manchester, as well as a headlining slot at Field Day in June. For full tour dates and information go to 

In the U.K., Ride had a top ten hit with Leave Them All Behind (1992 / #9) along with two other singles and three EPs that made the top forty. In the U.S., they charted three times on the Modern Rock chart with Taste (1991 / #24 M.R.), Behind (1992 / #20 M.R.) and Twisterella (1992 / #12 M.R.).

Set List:

Main Set
  • Polar Bear (from Nowhere, 1990)
  • Seagull (from Nowhere, 1990)
  • Twisterella (from Going Back Again, 1992)
  • Unfamiliar (from Today Forever EP, 1991)
  • Cool Your Boots (from Going Back Again, 1992)
  • Black Nite Crash (from Tarantula, 1996)
  • OX4 (from Going Back Again, 1992)
  • Dreams Burn Down (from Fall EP, 1990)
  • Time of Her Time (from Going Back Again, 1992)
  • Chrome Waves (from Going Back Again, 1992)
  • Paralysed (from Nowhere, 1990)
  • Taste (from Fall EP, 1990)
  • Vapour Trail (from Nowhere, 1990)
  • Drive Blind (from Ride EP, 1990)
Encore 1
  • Leave Them All Behind (from Going Back Again, 1992)
Encore 2
  • Like A Daydream (from Play EP, 1990)
  • Chelsea Girl (from Ride EP, 1990)
OX4: The Best of Ride will be released on limited edition double red vinyl for Record Store Day on Saturday 18th April.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.