Skip to main content

Radiohead's Jonny Greenwood Wins Best Music Score From L.A. Film Critics

Radiohead's Jonny Greenwood has finally taken the big prize from the Los Angeles Film Critics after twice being their runner-up for Best Music Score.

Greenwood came in second in 2007 for There Will Be Blood and in 2012 for The Master but, on Sunday, he finally was awarded the big price for his score to the film Inherent Vice. The guitarist tied with Mica Levi for Under the Skin.

Along with being the guitarist for Radiohead, Greenwood has made a major name for himself in scoring, having written the music for five features to date:
  • There Will Be Blood (2007)
  • Norwegian Wood (2010)
  • We Need to Talk About Kevin (2011)
  • The Master (2012)
  • Inherent Vice (2014)
He has also written for the documentary Bodysong (2003) and the video short Back Beyond (2013).

The new award will be added to the shelf where Greenwood already has many from various film organizations. For There Will Be Blood, Jonny was recognized by the Austin Film Critics Association, the Berlin International Film Festival, the Broadcast Film Critics Association, the Evening Standard British Film Awards, the International Cinephile Society, the Las Vegas Film Critics Association, the New York Film Critics, the Online Film & Television Association and the San Diego Film Critics Society. 

The score for The Master was honored by the Boston Online Film Critics Association, the Chicago Film Critics Association, the Georgia Film Critics Association, the San Diego Film Critics Society and the Washington DC Area Film Critics.