Skip to main content

Preview: "Love Gun: Deluxe Edition" - KISS

Artist: KISS
Title: Love Gun: Deluxe Edition
Release Date: October 27, 2014
Label: UMe
Format(s): 2-CDs, DD

Love Gun, one of KISS' biggest albums, will get the 2-CD Deluxe treatment on October 27 from UMe.

Over the years, Destroyer has sold more copies but, at the time of the original release (1977), Love Gun was the highest charting album of KISS' career, going to number 4 on the Billboard Top 200. They would not reach that high on the charts again until 1998's Psycho Circus.

Love Gun was the band's sixth studio release and the first to include lead vocals from all four members of the group. Two singles charted from the release, Christine Sixteen (1977 / #25) and the title track (1977 / #61).

The first disc of the set includes a remastered version of the original album while disc two has demos, three live performances from a 1977 Lakeland, Florida concert and an interview with Gene Simmons. A rarity for any expanded edition of an album, the deluxe edition includes a glimpse into Paul Stanley’s creative process on Love Gun (Teaching Demo) with Stanley talking through the various chords of the song.

Track List:

Disc 1 (Original Album)
  • I Stole Your Love
  • Christine Sixteen
  • Got Love For Sale
  • Shock Me
  • Tomorrow And Tonight
  • Love Gun
  • Hooligan
  • Almost Human
  • Plaster Caster
  • Then She Kissed Me
Disc 2 (Demos, Interviews & Live)
  • Much Too Soon (Demo)
  • Plaster Caster (Demo)
  • Reputation (Demo)
  • Love Gun (Teaching Demo)
  • Love Gun (Demo)
  • Gene Simmons Interview (1977)
  • Tomorrow And Tonight (Demo)
  • I Know Who You Are (Demo)
  • Love Gun (Live 1977)
  • Christine Sixteen (Live 1977)
  • Shock Me (Live 1977)